Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 240V element at 120V.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2012, 01:18 AM   #1
RyanW
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 8
Default 240V element at 120V.

I ran into a small hitch in my RIMS plan. My brewing area is only on a 15A circuit. I pulled an outlet and it is 14gauge wire, not 12 so I guess I'm stuck with 15A.

I assume it's ok to use a higher rated element at lower voltage. I'm thinking about using this element http://bostonheatingsupply.com/SP10869ML.aspx

it's a 240V 4500W element. based on my calculations it should be 1125W at 120V and only pull ~9.5A.

Any forseeable problems with this?

__________________
RyanW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 12:25 AM   #2
Junkster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: North Central, Ohio
Posts: 508
Liked 30 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Nope...

__________________
Junkster is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 01:35 AM   #3
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,013
Liked 974 Times on 651 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

Why not just use a 1500 watt element? 1500/120= 12.5 amps.

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-06-2012, 03:41 AM   #4
annoyingrob
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 74
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Maybe he wants to be able to utilize the higher output in the future when he has 240v available, and doesn't want to buy two different elements?

Or maybe he's being ambitious and wiring it up to 240v/120v so he has two settings......

__________________
annoyingrob is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 01:07 AM   #5
RyanW
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Why not just use a 1500 watt element? 1500/120= 12.5 amps.
Well I'm trying to stay under 80% of the circuit breaker rating. 80% of 15 is 12. Using the 1500W element wouldn't leave room for a pump.
__________________
RyanW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 01:11 AM   #6
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,013
Liked 974 Times on 651 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

You'd run a 1800 watt hair dryer on a 15amp circuit right?

__________________
BrewHardware.com
Sightglass, Refractometer, Ball Valve, Weldless bulkhead, Thermometer, Decals, Stainless Steel Fittings, Compression Fittings, Camlock Quick Disconnects, Scale, RIMS tube, Plate Chiller, Chugger Pump, Super Clear Silicone Tubing, and more!

New Stuff?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-09-2012, 01:34 AM   #7
RyanW
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
Posts: 8
Default

My bathroom circuits are all 20A. The kitchen are also 20A so my toaster and coffee maker are safe.

__________________
RyanW is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:29 AM   #8
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanW View Post
Well I'm trying to stay under 80% of the circuit breaker rating. 80% of 15 is 12. Using the 1500W element wouldn't leave room for a pump.
Why do so many assume you can't run a breaker at more than 80% of it's rating? A 15 Amp breaker is rated at 15 Amps, not 80% of 15 Amps and there is nothing wrong with loading it to 15 Amps.

A 1500 Watt element draws 12.5 Amps leaving plenty of capacity for your pump. You can even run a 1650 Watt element (13.75 Amps) and have plenty left over for your pump.
__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:35 AM   #9
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,590
Liked 124 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobby_M View Post
You'd run a 1800 watt hair dryer on a 15amp circuit right?
Yes, you would for like 5 minutes, if you had lots of hair.
__________________

Primary: Pre-prohibition Lager
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Chinook IPA
Drinking: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-11-2012, 04:41 AM   #10
whoaru99
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,590
Liked 124 Times on 101 Posts
Likes Given: 16

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
Why do so many assume you can't run a breaker at more than 80% of it's rating? A 15 Amp breaker is rated at 15 Amps, not 80% of 15 Amps and there is nothing wrong with loading it to 15 Amps.

A 1500 Watt element draws 12.5 Amps leaving plenty of capacity for your pump. You can even run a 1650 Watt element (13.75 Amps) and have plenty left over for your pump.

Seems I recall seeing that the 80% thing is for continuous loads, 3 hours or more.

But, yes, without regards to any code that may or may not apply, breakers are typically capable of holding 100% load indefinitely and some overload depending on amount and duration.
__________________

Primary: Pre-prohibition Lager
Secondary: Russian Imperial Stout
Drinking: Chinook IPA
Drinking: Waldo Lake Amber
Drinking: Edwort's Apfelwein

whoaru99 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch element from 240v to 120v brewsme Electric Brewing 5 07-21-2012 04:29 AM
Amps from 120v element on 240v circuit scottland Electric Brewing 3 05-21-2012 11:22 PM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 06:15 PM
Need advice- Using 240V water heater element for 120V? MTEXX DIY Projects 7 10-29-2009 03:20 PM