Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 240V 50A Outlet Installed
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2011, 12:02 AM   #1
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default 240V 50A Outlet Installed

I just installed a 50A 240V receptacle (RV outlet). No one ever told me that it would be a major PITA to work with 6 AWG wire.

Anyway, I installed a GFCI breaker. The instructions say to test it every month. would it wear out sooner if I tested once a week? My thoughts are, only turn on the breaker when I'm going to brew. After brewing, I'd test it and shut it off. I don't think I'll be brewing once a week but I'm just using that as the worst (best) case scenario... I wish I could brew once a week.

I just ordered my controller, SSR and RTD. I can't wait to give it a try.

__________________
SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 12:12 AM   #2
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, and people thought Detroit was bad
Posts: 1,759
Liked 288 Times on 215 Posts
Likes Given: 77

Default

I have been running one on my hot tub for 5 years, and I don't think it had been tested since I installed it.

If you test it will trip and you will have to reset the breaker. Kind of a PITA in my opinion.

__________________
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 12:20 AM   #3
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 18,893
Liked 3332 Times on 2064 Posts
Likes Given: 2835

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airplanedoc View Post
I have been running one on my hot tub for 5 years, and I don't think it had been tested since I installed it.

If you test it will trip and you will have to reset the breaker. Kind of a PITA in my opinion.
Please explain how resetting a GFCI is a PITA. I can't imagine anything simpler, but maybe I'm missing something.
__________________
Hey goomba I love how you dance the rumba
But take some advice paisano learn-a how to mambo
If you're gonna be a square you ain't-a gonna go anywhere.
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 12:23 AM   #4
Cimerian
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Hillsboro, TN
Posts: 282
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Try playing with #1 wire if you think 6 is bad. It is recommended that you cycle the breakers in your house once a year but who does that? But really I would turn it on test it then use it rather than test it after you are done using it.

__________________
Cimerian is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 12:26 AM   #5
Airplanedoc
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Airplanedoc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Illinois, and people thought Detroit was bad
Posts: 1,759
Liked 288 Times on 215 Posts
Likes Given: 77

Default

He said he installed a ground fault breaker not a outlet. The outlets push to reset at the outlet. The breaker you have to go to the breaker box, somewhere else and reset it. My breaker box is on the other side of the house and not the easiest to get to.

__________________
Airplanedoc is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 01:37 AM   #6
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default

My outlet is only 2 feet away from the panel. It's really no trouble to turn off the breaker or test it. I was just wondering if turning it on/off (or testing) once a week would wear it out and cause it to stop working properly.

My other thought is just to leave it on and buy a cover for my outlet. I don't want to rely on GFCI as the only means of protection. My wife, dog and future children are more important than brewing.

__________________
SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 02:54 AM   #7
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,257
Liked 250 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 441

Default

IMHO there is absolutely no problem in tripping the GFCI breaker. My design for an E-Stop circuit on the brew panel does just that. The breaker should be just fine with this process.

P-J

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-19-2011, 04:26 AM   #8
SeattleMatt
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: bothell, washington
Posts: 55
Default

Thanks P-J

I've seen your schematic with the e-stop shunting a small current to ground. I just assumed you would rarely use the e-stop.

I'll turn off the breaker between brews to keep things safe... those 50 amp receptacles have large openings.

__________________
SeattleMatt is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240v Outlet Placement jhollist Electric Brewing 2 06-21-2011 04:38 PM
how big is the installed element? kappclark Electric Brewing 3 03-20-2011 09:21 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 03:57 AM
Strange issue with 240v legs. 120v on both, no 240v Brewmoor Electric Brewing 5 12-03-2010 06:15 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 04:53 AM