Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 23amps and 14gauge wire, only used in panel?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-14-2014, 04:18 AM   #1
mikescooling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,858
Liked 230 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default 23amps and 14gauge wire, only used in panel?

Hey guys, I'm only talking about hooking one component to another, only inside the panel. ONLY IN THE PANEL, you can use smaller wire, because the runs are shorter, is what I'm reading? It's called open air wire rating.
Found a calculator
http://www.gorhamschaffler.com/wire_...alculator.html

http://wiktel.com/standards/ampacit.htm

And again this tread is about panel wire size from component to component. I've had a few of my threads locked for name calling, so lets be better than that. Thanks for any helpful input?

__________________
mikescooling is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 04:25 AM   #2
Facinerous
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Facinerous's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 341
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default

If you have the 14 ga wire and no 12 then I can understand why you would ask. Aside from that I would highly recommend you use 10 ga.

Its not technically free air. Free air is when the wire is suspended on poles outside. The higher ampacity is from the air circulation around the wire dissipating the heat quicker. Inside a panel it is no longer free air.

Technically you could get away with 12 ga wire as the nec says that its rated for 23 amps, but I still recommend 10 ga.

__________________

We learn best from our failures, not our successes.

Facinerous is offline
mikescooling Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 04:34 AM   #3
mikescooling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,858
Liked 230 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

Good to know, thank-you Facinerous. I was reading about it and thought I'd ask. I have a boat load of wire, so I could do 10 gauge. It seemed like a good topic. I'm doing my panel build now, looks like this

__________________
mikescooling is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 04:47 AM   #4
Facinerous
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Facinerous's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 341
Liked 49 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 21

Default

Well its lookin good. It will be pretty crammed with wire by the time you are done I am thinking.

__________________

We learn best from our failures, not our successes.

Facinerous is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 12:36 PM   #5
dhoge
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dhoge's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Indialantic, Florida
Posts: 64
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

What is the trick on connecting 10 awg to the smaller terminals, that most of the components have. For example- from the switch to the contactor.

__________________

Carpe Cerivisciam

dhoge is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 12:45 PM   #6
MagooBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 927
Liked 48 Times on 38 Posts

Default

The wires that control relays and contactors are not carrying a 23 amp load. These are low amperage so 14 gauge would be fine. On most applications the only 10 awg you should need would be your line in and the wires feeding the elements on the load side of a contactor or SSR.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Home Brew mobile app

__________________

"A flute with no holes is not a flute......
....... and a doughnut with no hole is a Danish."

Ty Webb

MagooBrew is offline
augiedoggy Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 07:17 PM   #7
mikescooling
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,858
Liked 230 Times on 178 Posts
Likes Given: 211

Default

For control wiring, I stepped down to 24volts, so you can use much smaller wire. The panel is not finished, I have no switches or light yet, but I'm getting closer by the day. And I have to have my new BK TIG welded. Then I can brew again.

__________________
mikescooling is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 11:23 PM   #8
crazyirishman34
Feedback Score: 49 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Newton, MA
Posts: 1,518
Liked 55 Times on 51 Posts
Likes Given: 88

Default

Yes in a cabinet is considered a free air application. When they are talking about transmission wire they are talking about wire in a cable or conduit.

__________________
www.downtheroadbrewery.com

www.pintley.com Great reviews of craft beer and win prizes at the same time

Down the Road on Facebook
crazyirishman34 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 06:54 AM   #9
kenh
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 256
Liked 20 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikescooling View Post
Hey guys, I'm only talking about hooking one component to another, only inside the panel. ONLY IN THE PANEL, you can use smaller wire, because the runs are shorter, is what I'm reading? It's called open air wire rating.
Found a calculator
http://www.gorhamschaffler.com/wire_...alculator.html

http://wiktel.com/standards/ampacit.htm

And again this tread is about panel wire size from component to component. I've had a few of my threads locked for name calling, so lets be better than that. Thanks for any helpful input?
Here are the maximum ampacities for chassis wiring, which is not the same as the NEC Code ratings for the romex cable in your house walls.

#14 THHN copper wire is good for up to 25 Amps
#12 THHN copper wire is good for up to 30 Amps
#10 THHN copper wire is good for up to 40 Amps

These ratings come from The Handbook of Electronic Tables and Formulas for American Wire Gauge. This data is also in NEC Table 310-16.
__________________
kenh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 07:48 AM   #10
atoughram
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Puyallup, Washington
Posts: 1,276
Liked 138 Times on 122 Posts
Likes Given: 277

Default

I used 18ga behind a 6a circuit breaker on the low amperage hookups, PID power, etc.

I've used #10 for the 25a circuits with 12/3 SO for the element cords. Nothing gets hot.

NFPA 70 is the often quoted electrical code, but in my opinion, NFPA 79 is the code which fits these panels better. Unfortunately I don't have a copy of it.

__________________
Clover Creek Brewery, Puyallup WA
Planning - Lunch Swamp Saison
Fermenters - Snagtooth Pale Ale OG 1.061
On tap
Mulholland Hard Cider OG 1.084
Carbon River Hefe OG 1.046
atoughram is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to buy internal wire for control panel? smittygouv30 Electric Brewing 21 02-22-2014 08:37 PM
How much wire did you use in your panel? Docbruw Electric Brewing 10 01-08-2014 08:38 PM
3 wire 240V Spa Panel to 4 wire out (AGAIN) Ducheney123 Electric Brewing 9 12-09-2012 03:05 PM
Spa panel before 3 wire dryer outlet Andrwb33 Electric Brewing 8 11-29-2012 06:49 PM
What guage wire from main panel to spa panel? AdamCanFly Electric Brewing 22 02-01-2012 03:36 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS