Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 22 gal pwm kettle

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-15-2010, 05:19 PM   #1
defenestrate
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
defenestrate's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: edgewater, MD
Posts: 1,085
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default 22 gal pwm kettle

i have a 22 gallon kettle on the way that i plan to build as electric. i got this size for 15 gal batch capacity, but will be running mostly 5-10 gallon batches. and plan on running a pwm with 5500 watt element. i'm going to be heating the mash and sparge water in the bk and will not be running a rims/herms-i just want to use the pwm for simple boil strength control. i know the 5500 is more than enough for 10 gal and overkill for 5, but i want to have more power than needed and to help speed up mash and sparge times.

i've been spending a lot of time trying to wrap my head around all of this electrical stuff. I have a 240 v outlet for my dryer- will i be able to run some sort of extension cord from the outlet to the box for this to work?

__________________
(dē-fěn'ĭ-strāt') To throw out of a window.
defenestrate is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:21 PM   #2
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,457
Liked 2759 Times on 2710 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

Yes, but how long are you running it? That will be a fairly expensive cord.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:51 PM   #3
defenestrate
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
defenestrate's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: edgewater, MD
Posts: 1,085
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Yes, but how long are you running it? That will be a fairly expensive cord.
15 ft if i want to brew outside. in my current townhouse i'm renting the dryer is right off the kitchen, so conceivably i could brew in the kitchen but i also would like to be able to run the cord out the door outside.
__________________
(dē-fěn'ĭ-strāt') To throw out of a window.
defenestrate is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 05:52 PM   #4
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,457
Liked 2759 Times on 2710 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

You're probably looking around 5-6 bucks a foot for the cable, then the connectors on either end.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:04 PM   #5
defenestrate
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
defenestrate's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: edgewater, MD
Posts: 1,085
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
You're probably looking around 5-6 bucks a foot for the cable, then the connectors on either end.
yikes. if i were to run it inside, can i have the element plugged into the wall directly?
__________________
(dē-fěn'ĭ-strāt') To throw out of a window.
defenestrate is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:06 PM   #6
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,226
Liked 61 Times on 55 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
You're probably looking around 5-6 bucks a foot for the cable, then the connectors on either end.
I don't remember what I payed, but mine wasn't nearly that expensive at HD or Lowes. Don't remember which now.
__________________
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:20 PM   #7
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,457
Liked 2759 Times on 2710 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

You'll want 10g wire. Find out what you actually have power wise on the outlet. It will be between 240-220 likely. 5500W/the voltage will tell you your actual current draw. Your cable needs rated to at least this value.

__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:24 PM   #8
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

You need 10 gauge SO cable for that - It's not more then $1.00 a foot if you look around for it.

(Assuming your dryer is 30 amp 240v) If I were you I would build your control box (Housing the PWM) with a 25 foot 10/3 whip and the appropriate 30 amp connector on the other end.

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:30 PM   #9
IrregularPulse
Hobby Collector
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
IrregularPulse's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 42,457
Liked 2759 Times on 2710 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetSounds View Post
You need 10 gauge SO cable for that - It's not more then $1.00 a foot if you look around for it.

(Assuming your dryer is 30 amp 240v) If I were you I would build your control box (Housing the PWM) with a 25 foot 10/3 whip and the appropriate 30 amp connector on the other end.
Where do you find it for less than $1/ft?

http://www.awcwire.com/Part.aspx?code=300H36H8J53
__________________
Tap Room Hobo

I should have stuck to four fingers in Vegas. :o - marubozo
IrregularPulse is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-15-2010, 06:53 PM   #10
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IrregularPulse View Post
Where do you find it for less than $1/ft?

http://www.awcwire.com/Part.aspx?code=300H36H8J53
Might have been $2.00/ft
Buy a 10 gauge extension cord and cut the ends off.
Lowes/HomeDepot/Menards/Etc
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55 gallon electric brew kettle Brewvy Electric Brewing 17 03-09-2014 05:14 AM
Whirlpool in Electric Kettle? Quaffer Electric Brewing 41 12-15-2013 01:14 AM
Electric kettle and hot break wildwest450 Electric Brewing 28 01-18-2011 02:39 PM
Electric Kettle for frying? rtt121 Electric Brewing 3 12-06-2010 12:59 AM
Electric Kettle Instructions tdiowa Electric Brewing 24 03-07-2010 10:08 PM