Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 20 amp 240v GFCI outlet?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2012, 03:54 PM   #1
DustBow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cincy, OH
Posts: 657
Liked 21 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default 20 amp 240v GFCI outlet?

I just wanted to confirm, there's no such thing (or at least cheap thing) as a 20amp 240V GFCI outlet, right? The 120v ones are obvioulsy not hard to find, but is there a 240v version out there?

Now that I'm going to use a 4500w element isntead of a 5500w, I realized the 4500w at 240v gets me under 20 amps. Running a new 20amp line/wire/outlet would be easier/cheaper than everything that comes with 30amp service. But if there's no reasonably priced GFCI protection at 20amps, I'll just stick with the initial 30amp plan.

I'm guessing it doesn't exist or many people would have already gone that route.....

thanks

__________________
"Brewers make wort, yeast make beer."

"Brewing beer is neither complicated nor expensive. It's the responsibility of the brewer to make it as complicated and expensive as their spouse & budget will allow."
DustBow is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 04:02 PM   #2
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

The other advantage to sizing everything at 20 amps is the cost. There is a significant cost difference between all of the much more common 20 amp equipment and the 30 amp equipment. I am running a 4500 watt element for this reason. I used a 30 amp gfci breaker and fed two 20 amp fuses in my controller so that I would be able to run #12 wire to everything and use 20 amp cord caps and receptacles to keep the cost down.

__________________
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 04:53 PM   #3
AnOldUR
fer-men-TAY-shuhn
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
AnOldUR's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 6,404
Liked 653 Times on 473 Posts
Likes Given: 486

Default

You could use a standard 240V / 20amp breaker and receptacle and an inline GFCI between your heating element and the plug. Not sure of the cost difference between that and the 30 amp solution, but wiring could be easier.




McMaster sells a 2ft 240V/20AMP extension cord for $80 (7348K54).

__________________
Personal taste is one thing, but to be arrogant about yours is what makes you an a-hole. Don't be an a-hole with personal taste.
. . .This has been a PSA from your local Klubb.

Billy-Klubb
AnOldUR is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-05-2012, 06:37 PM   #4
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,244
Liked 1056 Times on 704 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

That's cutting it pretty close though isn't it?

In any case, the cheapest way to get GFCI at 240v is an inline spa panel. The upside to that is that you can upgrade to 50 amps of draw without a new GFCI.

__________________
BrewHardware.com has a new website. Please check it out and let me know what you think!
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc. Did you know we are also now a full service homebrew shop selling malt, hops, yeast (Wyeast), etc?
Bobby_M is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-27-2012, 02:57 PM   #5
ryane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 805
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
The other advantage to sizing everything at 20 amps is the cost. There is a significant cost difference between all of the much more common 20 amp equipment and the 30 amp equipment. I am running a 4500 watt element for this reason. I used a 30 amp gfci breaker and fed two 20 amp fuses in my controller so that I would be able to run #12 wire to everything and use 20 amp cord caps and receptacles to keep the cost down.
I know this is an old thread but I saw this post and thought Id give you a heads up

what you did is illegal, not to code and a fire hazard

for continuous duty you have to a apply a 1.25factor to the current draw for safe operation

at 4500watts/240 = 18.75amps x 1.25 = 23amps so you need the 30amp brearker and the #10 wire, the #12 may get too hot during the long runs and could melt
ryane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 06:36 PM   #6
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

NEC Article 100 states that a continuous load is 3 hours or more. Seeing as I don't do 3 hour boils it's perfectly safe and legal.

__________________
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 07:12 PM   #7
inhousebrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: minneapolis, minnesota
Posts: 1,424
Liked 121 Times on 110 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Default

I like your thinking. Always look for the cheap easy way, then confirm there is no cheap easy way. I'm in the process of doing this for eBIAB.

__________________

I hate Walder Frey...

inhousebrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 08:03 PM   #8
ryane
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 805
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
NEC Article 100 states that a continuous load is 3 hours or more. Seeing as I don't do 3 hour boils it's perfectly safe and legal.
Aside from continuous duty definition

210.19(A), 215.2, and 230.42(A) specify that the conductor has to be able to carry no less than 100% of noncontinous duty load, in your case 30A (chosen breaker), #12 is good up to 90C if THHN your good to 30A,

unfortunately though, for small conductors (10,12,14) NEC 240.4(d) limits #12 to 20A overcurrent max, so connecting #12 to a 30A breaker is a no no
__________________
RyanBrews - check out all the bread/funk/pickling/cheese and other crazy things I try...
ryane is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 08:33 PM   #9
yjfun
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Arlington, Washington
Posts: 225
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Did you not read that I fused down to 20 amps in the controller?

__________________
yjfun is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-28-2012, 09:35 PM   #10
jeffmeh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jeffmeh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,884
Liked 147 Times on 126 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yjfun View Post
Did you not read that I fused down to 20 amps in the controller?
Isn't the issue that you have 12 gauge house wiring with a 30a breaker that is oversized for and won't protect the wiring, as your permanent installation? I would think that would not conform to code. Again, I am not an electrician.
__________________
jeffmeh is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jump a 240v outlet? BucksPA Electric Brewing 2 11-11-2011 06:29 PM
240V 50A Outlet Installed SeattleMatt Electric Brewing 7 09-19-2011 05:26 AM
Can I use a regular GFCI wall outlet, (like in your bathroom)? shortyjacobs Electric Brewing 7 06-23-2011 03:18 PM
240v Outlet Placement jhollist Electric Brewing 2 06-21-2011 05:38 PM
placement of GFCI outlet kappclark Electric Brewing 7 03-05-2011 06:13 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS