Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2010, 02:29 AM   #1
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,691
Liked 68 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default 2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord?

Hey All-

I've been researching how to provide GFCI protection to my toolbox control panel. It will be supplied by a 4 wire dryer cord, and I have a 2 pole 30A GFCI breaker in the box. My question is, once I hook everything up to the breaker (grd, neu, hot), aren't I still left with the second line that is still hot (and unprotected?). I'm eyeballing the breaker and I can see where the line and load sides are sposed to go, but it still seems like I'll be left with an odd man out. It's definitely more involved than the regular breakers, and I REALLY don't want to mess this one up

ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 03:27 AM   #2
renevdb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hawaii - Oahu
Posts: 69
Default

The two hot wires are connected to each pole of the breaker. The Neutral is connected for the GFCI. The ground is not used for the breaker of GFCI.

__________________
Eddie would go

Primary: Strong Belgium Blonde

Bottle: Abdij II, Wit, Cool Vienna, Dad's Dubbel
renevdb is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 05:42 AM   #3
mnadamn
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Milwaukee WI / Mankato MN
Posts: 371
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

By this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
Hey All-
It will be supplied by a 4 wire dryer cord, and I have a 2 pole 30A GFCI breaker in the box.
Do you mean that already have GFCI at the supply panel in your home or that you have the GFCI already in your toolbox? If it is in the panel for your whole house, do NOT install in your toolbox, this will not work. You only need 1 GFCI in the system be it at the panel or in the rig itself. I do not know which you were speaking of but thought could save you some money and frustration.
__________________
mnadamn is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 12:20 PM   #4
kjung
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago Area
Posts: 3,741
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
Hey All-

I've been researching how to provide GFCI protection to my toolbox control panel. It will be supplied by a 4 wire dryer cord, and I have a 2 pole 30A GFCI breaker in the box. My question is, once I hook everything up to the breaker (grd, neu, hot), aren't I still left with the second line that is still hot (and unprotected?). I'm eyeballing the breaker and I can see where the line and load sides are sposed to go, but it still seems like I'll be left with an odd man out. It's definitely more involved than the regular breakers, and I REALLY don't want to mess this one up
On a two-pole breaker, technically BOTH poles are "line" side. Both hots will terminate at the two (hot) poles on your receptacle.
__________________
kjung is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-19-2010, 04:08 PM   #5
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,691
Liked 68 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

There is no GCFI at the house's panel, I'm putting one in my conrol box to make up for it. I see...I guess I didn't realize the ground wasn't included. So ground goes directly to its own bus, neutral goes through the breaker and the pigtail goes to neutral bus, and both hots go through the breaker and onto their respective busses...

ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 05:32 AM   #6
petey_c
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
petey_c's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miller Place, NY (Long Island)
Posts: 1,130
Liked 43 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Steve 100% correct, but by this time I'm sure you already know this...

__________________
petey_c is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 08:14 AM   #7
XXXXX
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 54
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Nevermind

__________________
XXXXX is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 06:50 PM   #8
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,691
Liked 68 Times on 50 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Yup...figured it out the expensive way! I ended up installing a 50A breaker in the main panel with a 50A GFCI Spa Subpanel. I've been learning a lot about this stuff!

__________________
UNIBREW 5500 SINGLE VESSEL BREWERY
WOODEN SINGLE TIER
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-08-2011, 07:37 PM   #9
bullywee
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Greensboro NC
Posts: 186
Likes Given: 2

Default

I had a similar issue, after all the parts for the new system were bought, I realized that my shop outlet was 3-prong off a 50a CB. I ran new 10/4 wire and got a 50a GFCI CB from a spa panel - problem solved! thanks PJ for the advice.

__________________
bullywee is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable Windsors Electric Brewing 21 01-02-2012 06:39 AM
12gauge extension cord rated at only 15Amps Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 23 04-25-2011 07:01 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
2 2K heatsticks on 1 30A breaker? BeantownD Electric Brewing 14 11-19-2010 08:20 PM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 09:53 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS