Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 2 PIDs, 1 element, switch control
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-17-2011, 09:02 PM   #1
njbabs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 50
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default 2 PIDs, 1 element, switch control

I am wondering if it is possible (and how) to wire a system in which you can switch between two different PIDs to control a single element (my planned system is a two vessel no sparge HERMS, one PID to Kettle w/ element, the other to the MLT). The goal would be a selector switch to choose whether the MLT PID or the Kettle PID was controlling the element in the Kettle.

I am planning to use 1 SSR and 1 DPDT Relay to a 240V/5500W element.

I would like to use one 3 position switch at the DPDT relay (since there would be a switch there anyway), but am not sure if this is possible or how to wire it (without another SSR & relay).

Otherwise, would something like this work?


Thanks for any help.

__________________
njbabs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2011, 09:58 PM   #2
Rondacker
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rondacker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Great Sacandaga Lake, New York
Posts: 225
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I think you have it right.
How are you going to handle two sensors? If that's the plan.

__________________

Ein Bier, Bitte!

On Deck= Witt
Brewing=
Primary= Ed Wort's Apple Wine,
Secondary= Air
Bottled= Lots of Beer
Drinking= 2013 Maple Sap Ale, Columb-MO SMaSH IPA, Brando O's Graff.

Rondacker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-19-2011, 10:34 PM   #3
conpewter
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
conpewter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: East Dundee, Illinois
Posts: 5,131
Liked 41 Times on 36 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I'm confused on why you would want two PIDs for one element. Couldn't you just change the PID settings depending on if you are boiling or mashing?

__________________

"People should not be afraid of their governments. Governments should be afraid of their people." - V

Primary: Nothin
Secondary: Shady Lord RIS, Water to Barleywine, Pumpkin wine, burnt mead
Kegged: Crappy infected mild
Bottles: Apfelwein, 999 Barleywine, Oatmeal Stout, Robust Porter, Robust smoked porter, Simcoe Smash

conpewter is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2011, 01:34 AM   #4
njbabs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 50
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I was hoping to have the ability (as long as I had two PIDs anyway) to select which PID was controlling the element in the Kettle/HLT, since each would be measuring temp at a different point (one in the kettle, one in the MLT).

I thought the flexibility to control temp during a HERMS recirculation based on either probe might prove useful as I dialed in my process/system (particularly if it was simple to wire the option).

In summary: The PID wired to the MLT or the PID wired to the Kettle could control the the kettle element (particuarly during HERMS recirculation).

...for all I know using the MLT PID and tempt probe would just lead to a bunch of overshooting.

__________________
njbabs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2011, 04:58 AM   #5
thelorax121
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Athens GA
Posts: 419
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Just use the one PID, and switch it to manual output (around 60% for my system) to achieve a good rolling boil

__________________
thelorax121 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-20-2011, 01:16 PM   #6
njbabs
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Princeton, NJ
Posts: 50
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I apppreciate the thought, but I'll have 2 PIDs regardless even if one is only reading temp. from the MLT. AND since I'll have two, and two possible temp probe readings to use as control points for a PID, I was wondering if switching between them was possible.

Regardless the kettle PID will run in manual during the boil. This switch would (might) only be use during mash/HERMS.

__________________
njbabs is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heating Element Switch Question JrZyBud Electric Brewing 9 05-19-2011 07:24 PM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-11-2011 12:37 AM
3 Way Switch, 1500W element help TimWeber Electric Brewing 4 04-01-2011 12:04 AM
control panel on/off switch stevehaun Electric Brewing 3 12-18-2010 04:49 PM
Selector switch to use one pic for two seperate element/probes StumpyJohnson Electric Brewing 23 11-24-2010 03:03 PM



Newest Threads

Ok?

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS