Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 120v 5 gal questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2011, 04:16 PM   #1
movet22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default 120v 5 gal questions

Hey guys, Long time lurker, new to joining the conversation.

I have been brewing extract batches for ~4 years now (my first batch was in my nasty college apartment sophomore year lol), and have recently decided to make the AG plunge. I have been doing considerable amounts of research and have decided that I will be building my setup a little at a time, but that I wanted to go electric from the beginning. For the time being, I do not have access to a 240v outlet, and don't imagine I will for quite some time. My plan is to do 5 gal full volume batches, and I wanted to know if I would be able to use a 120v element to do so. (I have no aspirations of ever going to 10 gal). As it stands, I have a 10 gal rubbermaid cooler as my MLT, and am looking to pick up a 10 gal ss pot for my HLT/BK (I will get 2 so I can dedicate the two, but that is for a while later).

Back to the original question: can I do 5 gal AG batches with a 120v element, and what would I need? I imagine that I would need a ranco controller of sorts to be able to monitor the temps, but all that is useless if I can't boil with a 120v element. I essentially want to do electric batches with as little change to my electrical situation as possible.

I apologize for the long winded post, but am trying to be as specific as possible. Thanks for all your help guys!!

Prost!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-03-2011, 04:40 PM   #2
Flyin
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts