Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 120v on 220v element?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2011, 04:40 AM   #31
LakewoodBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 5,876
Liked 24 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bruin_ale View Post
the e-bay china ones get to me in a week, I was surprised when that showed up before alot of the other stuff I ordered that didn't have to cross the Pacific
Yeah, great price too. The Crydom equivalent is an order or magnitude more expensive, and works exactly the same (actually the china specials have a little light on them that tell you when they are on, Crydom does not.)
__________________
LakewoodBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 01:10 PM   #32
wilserbrewer
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 9 reviews
 
wilserbrewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jersey Shore, Jersey
Posts: 7,287
Liked 573 Times on 468 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hatrickwah View Post
I just hope the 1000w or 1500w element can get the 10 gallon batch to boil in a decent amount of time.
1000w or 1500w will not boil ten gallons, you will need 3-4000w. If you are going 120v, I would suggest 2, 20 amp circuits driving 2000w each.
wilserbrewer is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 02:57 PM   #33
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Default

Maybe I should have just lead with the question, can it boil the beer. Would have saved lots of time. I won't bother with two elements, especially since I plan on going to 220v anyway. Just now I have more of a reason to push the wife into it.

__________________

Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System

hatrickwah is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 06:04 PM   #34
bruin_ale
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,434
Liked 16 Times on 16 Posts

Default

haha, sounds like you're coming around. 220V is probably mandatory for 10G. 1500W is probably a struggle to boil 5G without a ton of insulation.

bruin_ale is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 09:14 PM   #35
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,236
Liked 89 Times on 79 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Just a side comment about the suggestion to try and obtain 240V by tapping two separate 120V circuits that are derived from opposite hot lines in the panel...

If you are using GFCI to protect yourself (and you really should be doing this), then that suggestion will get you nowhere. As soon as you fire up the thing, the GFCI circuitry on those 120V circuits will not be happy and will shut down the system.

__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools




Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS