Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 110v Recirculating eBIAB 2.5 gallon batches

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-14-2012, 02:01 AM   #31
jrb03
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by StubbornMack View Post
Very cool info. Makes me wanna try it . Does anyone know if this element http://m.grainger.com/mobile/details/?R=15A569 would work? Looks like it draws the same volts and amps, but I am definitely not anyone you want playing with electricity.
3000w seems pretty high for 120v. I'm not an electrician either, but I think that would need a 30 amp breaker! 2000w is the highest I've seen used on 120v. Maybe someone else can chime in.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-14-2012, 02:18 AM   #32
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 248 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 435

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrb03 View Post
3000w seems pretty high for 120v. I'm not an electrician either, but I think that would need a 30 amp breaker! 2000w is the highest I've seen used on 120v. Maybe someone else can chime in.
You are absolutely correct. A 3000W element on 120V will draw 25A all by itself and requires a 30 amp feed.. A 2000W element on 120V will draw 17A and therefore requires a 20A 120V breaker.

Old 08-14-2012, 02:47 PM   #33
P-J
Recipes 

I have had several requests for the first diagram (page 1 on this thread) to have an added 2nd element for a 120V system.

So I spent some time making a drawing for that setup. Power is being fed from 2 seperate 20A 120V GFCI outlets. It includes E-Stop that will trip both GFCI outlets at once.

I hope this is of help to thedude00 and others that have requested it.

As always - Click on the image to see a full scale diagram printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")

Wishing all the best.

P-J

Old 08-14-2012, 04:07 PM   #34
Krieger
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts