Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 110v Recirculating eBIAB 2.5 gallon batches
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2013, 03:14 AM   #281
ddahl84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 86
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbnla

I apologize if I have missed it. The many panel pictures are hard to distinguish the wire sizes. I have not seen any mention of the wire sizes used in the many panel builds. P-J indicated that only the wire to the element outlet and the contact and I assume the SSR # 1 & 2 need to be 12 gauge and the pump outlet wire 14 gauge. Am I correct in that assumption ?
Also the remaining wire to the rest of the switches can be what smaller gauge ? All 22 as Kal indicates or do most of you use larger sizes than his . I would appreciate any help before I get to wiring.
Wire size depends on the amps that will be flowing through it. If your setup is being powered buy a 20a circuit then all wires that will be drawing that(contactor, element, ssr) should be 12g wire. The wires going to the pid and pump can be smaller 14g. For example my setup uses 30a so the ssr to contactor to element run 10g, 14g to the pid and pump with a 1a and 10a fuse used. I think using 22g is only for connecting the pid to the ssr but not necessary. I would stick with 12g for 20a and 14g for everything else. IMO
Hope this helps. Keep asking questions for anything your unsure of.
__________________
ddahl84 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 08:39 PM   #282
jbnla
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 49
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Thanks for the quick reply. I am trying to understand the wire size in relation to the fuses that you mention. Couldn't the wire on the down side on a one amp fuse be very small in relation to 14g and the same for a 10a could be maybe 16g safely ? I realize that for convenience all wire could be the same as long as it is larger than needed. Also on the plans that P-J posted for the OP build only shows two 1 amp fuses for E-stop and PID. Did you fuse the 10a pushbutton switches. Did you follow a different plan or do your own ?

__________________
jbnla is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 09:54 PM   #283
ddahl84
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 86
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbnla
Thanks for the quick reply. I am trying to understand the wire size in relation to the fuses that you mention. Couldn't the wire on the down side on a one amp fuse be very small in relation to 14g and the same for a 10a could be maybe 16g safely ? I realize that for convenience all wire could be the same as long as it is larger than needed. Also on the plans that P-J posted for the OP build only shows two 1 amp fuses for E-stop and PID. Did you fuse the 10a pushbutton switches. Did you follow a different plan or do your own ?
Instead of taking over this thread here's a link to my setup.
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/dif...rewery-380514/
I'll be happy to answer any questions about it there.
__________________
ddahl84 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2013, 03:56 PM   #284
jrb03
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 113
Liked 15 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wagon_6

You use the Lowe's paint strainer bags, right? Going to brew the first 1.080+ beer on the system next weekend and I noticed with the basket, the mash gets thick with more than 6 #'s.
Correct, I use the paint strainer bags from lowes.
__________________
jrb03 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:05 AM   #285
Jps101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 87
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quick question for the pros...

This weekend at Home Depot I was looking at a 12 awg extension cord to "hack up" as has been done here. I find it interesting that right on the box/lable they state it is only approved for 15 amps. However, a minimum amount of research will tell you that 12 awg is approved for up to 20 amps. Any thoughts on this? My 2 cents - attorneys and CYA!

__________________
Jps101 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:23 AM   #286
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jps101 View Post
Quick question for the pros...

This weekend at Home Depot I was looking at a 12 awg extension cord to "hack up" as has been done here. I find it interesting that right on the box/lable they state it is only approved for 15 amps. However, a minimum amount of research will tell you that 12 awg is approved for up to 20 amps. Any thoughts on this? My 2 cents - attorneys and CYA!
It is rated for 15A due to the Plug & Outlet used on the ends of the cable. The 20A Plug & Outlet have a completely different configuration in their layout.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:27 AM   #287
Jps101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 87
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
It is rated for 15A due to the Plug & Outlet used on the ends of the cable. The 20A Plug & Outlet have a completely different configuration in their layout.
Paul,

If I understand your response correctly, this would be a no-go for the set-up/diagram you provided in the original post?
__________________
Jps101 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:30 AM   #288
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,284
Liked 260 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 459

Default

The cable is A-Ok. It is properly rated for 20A. Regarding the cable plug: This is a picture of a 20A plug. You will see the difference right away.

20A plug:



Hope this helps.

Edit:
15A plug:

__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 12:32 AM   #289
Jps101
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 87
Liked 4 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
The cable is A-Ok. It is properly rated for 20A. Regarding the cable plug: This is a picture of a 20A plug. You will see the difference right away.



Hope this helps.
Yep!

Saw those when I was looking for a 20amp plug...all is clear. As always thanks for sharing your wisdom!
__________________
Jps101 is offline
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2013, 04:12 AM   #290
CalypsoCowboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Nampa, ID
Posts: 44
Default

jrb, curious as to what size plate chiller you have. I would imagine you don't need a large one for your batch size.

__________________
CalypsoCowboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to build a 5 gal, 110v eBIAB kettle Disintegr8or Electric Brewing 98 11-13-2014 02:27 AM
110v Hlt kickrjason Electric Brewing 24 07-08-2012 05:05 AM
110v to 3v??? BigPatBrewer Electric Brewing 18 05-07-2012 07:04 PM
Anybody brew 10g batches with a 2250w 110v ? joeybeer Electric Brewing 3 01-25-2012 12:40 AM
1 PID for 2 110v elements mr_tripp Electric Brewing 6 05-06-2011 04:08 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS