Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 1 pid, 2 ssr, 110v?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-17-2013, 03:30 PM   #1
Vellum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 157
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default 1 pid, 2 ssr, 110v?

Hi all,

I'm getting ready to start ordering the supplies to build a very basic e-bib 110v system. I would like to keep things relatively simple but still have everything run through one control box. I have seen on 110v systems where two elements are used, one through the pid and the other one its own cord into its own circuit (I.e. not through the control box).

I know I can wire both elements through the control box independently but I was wondering if their is a way for the pid to control both elements while each element is on its own 20a circuit. Sorry if my electrical terms are off, I'm an accountant...so basically can the pid control two ssrs with each Ssr on its own electrical circuit?

If so, any ideas on a wiring diagram? This is to be a simple control panel, no pumps, just maybe an on off switch unless you guys suggest something that I am overlooking that you feel I absolutely need.

Thank you for your help.

__________________
Vellum is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 04:05 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

How about something like this:

As always - click on the image to see (and save) a full scale diagram printable on Tabloid paper (11" x 17")



Hopes this helps.

P-J

__________________
P-J is offline
Vellum Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 05:32 PM   #3
Vellum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 157
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thank you so much PJ! That is exactly what I'm thinking of. Nice and simple. Thanks for including the pumps just in case. One more question: as long as I plug the box into two gfci outlets I shouldn't need to include any other type of protection right?

__________________
Vellum is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 05:41 PM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vellum View Post
Thank you so much PJ! That is exactly what I'm thinking of. Nice and simple. Thanks for including the pumps just in case. One more question: as long as I plug the box into two gfci outlets I shouldn't need to include any other type of protection right?
That is correct.

Just another note: With the 2000W elements the current draw on each will be 17A. This means you would need each outlet to be on a 20A circuit and on seperate breakers.

If you use 1500W elements you can use 2 - 15A circuits as the current draw would be 12.5A on each.
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 07:20 PM   #5
Vellum
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 157
Liked 21 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Thanks so much PJ. Your help is invaluable.

__________________
Vellum is offline
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 09:18 PM   #6
Rbeckett
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Rbeckett's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Bronson, Fl
Posts: 987
Liked 66 Times on 47 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

PJ,
Dude you rock. I was also looking for a simplified PID set up for my tower. I plan to run two pids, one pump, and various other switches to control air solenoid valves for the tippy dump and leg extensions. This diagram give me a perfect base circuit to doublle and then add the remaining control circuits as needed. Thanks man!!!!

Wheelchair Bob

__________________

What do you mean "no Kidneys"???, WTF now I gotta drink less beer...
Join the Automation sub forum in Electric brewing for a discussion of components and control systems. I did!!!!

Rbeckett is offline
P-J Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 10:02 PM   #7
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
That is correct.

Just another note: With the 2000W elements the current draw on each will be 17A. This means you would need each outlet to be on a 20A circuit and on seperate breakers.

If you use 1500W elements you can use 2 - 15A circuits as the current draw would be 12.5A on each.
Or you can use two 1650 Watt elements and be just below 15 Amps each (13.75 A).
__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 10:15 PM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,283
Liked 259 Times on 207 Posts
Likes Given: 454

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thargrav View Post
Or you can use two 1650 Watt elements and be just below 15 Amps each (13.75 A).
Sounds good - but?
Then the pump(s)?
__________________
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-17-2013, 10:31 PM   #9
thargrav
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Huntsville, Alabama
Posts: 821
Liked 38 Times on 35 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Sure, a MARCH 0809-0196-0600 pump is rated at 1.4 Amps, but I checked mine with a amprobe and it draws less than 1 Amp running. The reason is a motor's current draw is dependent on load & apparantly these, or at least mine, is not under full load whan running.

So, the pump + the element should draw slightly less than 15 Amps.

Here's what my pump is running.
http://www.instructables.com/id/Buil...el-RIMS-tube-/

__________________
thargrav is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-18-2013, 09:37 PM   #10
lwcm
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lincoln, NE
Posts: 81
Default

What would the minimum wattage required be to boil 5-7 gallons of wort? I have a 20a 110v outlet and I think another 15-20A 110v outlet in separate portions of my workshop.

__________________
lwcm is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
One 220v or two 110v? goybar Electric Brewing 12 09-05-2014 12:26 AM
110V eHERMS do-able for 10 Gal? hot_carl Brew Stands 4 11-22-2012 01:31 AM
110v Hlt kickrjason Electric Brewing 24 07-08-2012 05:05 AM
110v to 3v??? BigPatBrewer Electric Brewing 18 05-07-2012 07:04 PM
1 PID for 2 110v elements mr_tripp Electric Brewing 6 05-06-2011 04:08 AM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS