New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 1 PID for 2 110v elements




Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2011, 04:23 PM   #1
mr_tripp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake St. Louis
Posts: 92
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default 1 PID for 2 110v elements

I searched the forum and found some info but not enough. I have two separate 20 amp gfi outlets in my shop. Can I connect this PID to two 110v heating elements? If so how? Do you recommend a better PID or element?

PID: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002PIM3R8/ref=s9_simh_gw_p60_d1_i5?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_ rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=040NY8NTPD0DTZPWD39Q&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p =470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

Element: http://www.amazon.com/Water-Heater-Element-2000W-120V/dp/B001021KHE/ref=pd_sbs_sg_6



__________________
mr_tripp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2011, 06:56 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

your links don't work, but the answer is that you can probably do it.

One PID should be able to drive two SSRs, so you can have one element through one SSR and the other element through the other SSR, and that one PID firing both of them in unison.



__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2011, 07:15 PM   #3
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clovistan, NM
Posts: 120
Default

Yes you can do it. I have 2 20amp ssrs one for a 2000w element, and the other for a 1500 w element. Each ssr is fed from a different outlet on two separate circuits. To control the ssrs they are wired in series from the control circuit on the PID. Its been a while since I've looked, but m fairly sure that the control circuit on an Auber PID is enough to control several ssrs.

__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2011, 07:20 PM   #4
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wh4tig0t View Post
Yes you can do it. I have 2 20amp ssrs one for a 2000w element, and the other for a 1500 w element. Each ssr is fed from a different outlet on two separate circuits. To control the ssrs they are wired in series from the control circuit on the PID. Its been a while since I've looked, but m fairly sure that the control circuit on an Auber PID is enough to control several ssrs.
Interesting... I would have wired them in parallel and not even thought about it, but wiring them in series would probably work fine. There is plenty of voltage drop across the control signals of the average PID to switch two of your average SSRs in series.

I think most PIDs put out appx 12VDC and most SSRs need a minimum of 3VDC to switch.

It's just a matter of current pulled from the PID at that point.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2011, 08:07 PM   #5
wh4tig0t
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clovistan, NM
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker

Interesting... I would have wired them in parallel and not even thought about it, but wiring them in series would probably work fine. There is plenty of voltage drop across the control signals of the average PID to switch two of your average SSRs in series.

I think most PIDs put out appx 12VDC and most SSRs need a minimum of 3VDC to switch.

It's just a matter of current pulled from the PID at that point.
Meant to say parallel, yeah didn't try them in series, parallel works great.
__________________
wh4tig0t is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-04-2011, 10:07 PM   #6
mr_tripp
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lake St. Louis
Posts: 92
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Here is the PID: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002PIM3R8/ref=s9_simh_gw_p60_d1_i5?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_ rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=040NY8NTPD0DTZPWD39Q&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p =470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

Here is the heating element: http://www.amazon.com/Water-Heater-Element-2000W-120V/dp/B001021KHE/ref=pd_sbs_sg_6

__________________
mr_tripp is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-06-2011, 03:08 AM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,238
Liked 70 Times on 62 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

that's the exact same PID that I use. It works fine for maintaining a temp, but if you plan on boiling with electric, that PID will not allow you to control the strength of the boil.



__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply


Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools
Display Modes