Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Kombucha & Fermented Tea Forum > Kombucha culture for continuous brewing

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-01-2012, 09:30 PM   #11
wobit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Hi! I'm reviving this thread in hope of getting some advice. I set up my first attempt at brewing kombucha about 3 weeks ago, and I'm not sure whether I need to adjust things or if I'm simply being impatient.

I am new to brewing, but have experience with other culinary microbiology efforts such as yogurt and bread baking. I think I've been sufficiently fastidious, but I know these things also have a mysterious feel, an "art" to getting it right and I'm trying to teach myself from the internet.

The Setup
I have a stainless steel 2 gallon continuous brew container, similar to ones marketed on kombucha enthusiast websites. We had been using it to dispense water. I washed it carefully, dried, and then rinsed with distilled vinegar to remove soap or chlorine or wild organisms. I do not have a SCOBY, so I bought 2 half-gallon jugs of locally made, raw, kombucha to use as my mother. Katalyst Kombucha (their Ginger Devotion flavor which is really lovely).

[argh, accidentally posted a fragment and as it's my first post, had to wait for mod approval, now editing in the rest.]