New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Kombucha & Fermented Tea Forum > Controlling Temperature???

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2012, 04:47 PM   #1
HopSong
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 72 Times on 64 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default Controlling Temperature???

I'm also a noob. I have my fermenter on the kitchen counter. The house is getting cold and we haven't turned on the heater yet.. and even then, the temps fluctuate quite a bit. Generally, the temps at this time of year are in the low to mid 60's in the morning and warming to the high 60's-low 70's during the day.

Currently, I have an inexpensive (ebay) cable type thermometer attached to the side of he fermenter under some foam. I've added an electric heating pad around it but can only leave it on for a few hours before I'm at 80*.. and then it starts the cycle down to ambient.

Sooooooooo, what do you folks use to maintain a desirable temp? I've thought of a few things like putting the fermenter into an ice chest with water and an aquarium heater.. but, if I close the lid, I'm possibly not helping if it needs fresh air. On one site, I think I saw some sort of low wattage heater that is flexible and straps around the fermenter.. but, I don't see a way to control it. I guess I could also put it in a cardboard box with a low wattage light bulb inside a mason jar wrapped with foil to stop light from possibly spoiling the elixer.

What say you all???

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-10-2012, 11:01 PM   #2
porcupine73
Recipes 

Liked 45 Times on 41 Posts
Likes Given: 513