Originally Posted by twoodward15
I'm not a celiac, but have friends that are. I'd like to make them a gluten free beer.
Rice is gluten free. Could I use sorghum as a base and a lot of rice to try to get away from the sourness? I was also thinking that using somemaple syrup and making it into a maple brown ale would surely help cover up the sorghum (although I've never tried a GF beer, but am going to try it next time I get tot he beer store). I'm just thinking that there has to be a way to make a better tasting beer.
Check out some of the threads on GF beer from chestnuts. There's lot of entries that might give you some ideas.
You can use sorghum if you like the flavor of it in a beer.
Google up---"Gluten free chestnut beer"