Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Paleo Beer Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-22-2011, 03:03 AM   #1
Synapsis
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Paleo Beer Questions

I'm fairly new to homebrewing and to the website, and I have a couple of questions about a possible paleo beer. I think paleo has been explained a little bit on a few other threads, but basically the major issue with brewing a paleo beer is that I can't have any grains. Does anyone know of a good substitute for grains in brewing?

After looking around at the site, some of the ideas I've come up with that may fit the bill...

• Doing a cider of some sort using fresh apples and honey to sweeten.
  • I think I could get away with using natural Sorghum and Sorghum Syrup, but I've never used those in a recipes before. I saw a pumpkin recipe that sounded delicious, but it called for baking the Sorghum. Not sure what the natural state of Sorghum is, but it sounds like a grain.
  • I could do a mead or wine, but I'm really more of a beer person.
  • I really like the idea of a pumpkin beer. Can I do a beer with no grains and pumpkin?

If there's already an active thread that discusses these issues, I would really appreciate a link.

There are 2 worst case scenarios in my opinion for not finding any substitutes, and neither is that terrible. The first is that I just brew the beer I like and have it on my cheat days. The second is that I just try a little bit of chemistry and see what I get. Any suggestions or hints would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers!

The guy who taught me and my buddies to brew was a chemical engineer and always used to chuckle and say, "Boys, brewing beer is simply chemistry with a purpose."

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-22-2011, 05:06 AM   #2
ABrewingApe
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts