*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Malting Gluten Free Grains

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-22-2012, 09:06 PM   #171
powmonster
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Malted Millet, Buckwheat and Brown Rice over the last several days...

I had a failed experience previously with quinoa and millet so since I am new at this stuff I got a sprouting coach (a guy that sells grains for sprouting in Boulder, CO)...

Used Large Ziplock reusable containers, poked holes in the bottoms (for rinsing/drainage) and drilled a few in each of the four sides (high up on the container for air).
Soaked all overnight (10 hours total) in large bowls, threw the grains (separately) into the modified container and rinsed and covered w/ lids and let it sit on the dining table...
Rinsed 2-3 times a day.
Air Temp: 72
Buckwheat was fully modified after 24 hours after the soak (thereabout) Buckwheat Groats were used
Millet 48 hours-ish (w/ hull)
Brown Rice is still getting there at 72 hours and I am now putting it outside in the heat to speed it up, which is working, noticable change in 4 hours (90+ outside today with some humidity, but this is CO, so not really)
Dehydrated to stop the modification process in a excalibur dehydrator for as long as it took to dry out (buckwheat much longer than millet)
Roasting 25 minutes at 300 for an IPA recipe.
Going to throw the roasted malt in a brown bag for 2 weeks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-07-2012, 12:44 AM   #172
Kithara
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts