The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Looking for a gluten free malty beer, can anyone help?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2013, 01:16 AM   #1
the_rayway
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Looking for a gluten free malty beer, can anyone help?

Hi All,
I'm totally new to the idea of brewing my own beer, although I've been making wine from scratch for a little while now.

Since being diagnosed as a Celiac (10 years ago), I have been craving a huge-bodied, super-malty, slightly sweet and low-to-mid hopped beer. Does anyone have a recipe or two they would be willing to share? I'm thinking something along the lines of a cream or a brown.

Any and all help is appreciated!
Ray

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-04-2013, 01:20 AM   #2
thadius856
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 527 Times on 245 Posts
Likes Given: 155

Cream will not be super-malty.

A porter or scotch ale sounds a little more like what you're looking for.

Thadius Miller, Project Manager -> RaspberryPints

Before you build a keezer, look at this!
Chest Freezer Spec Sheets and Layout Drawings (15 models and counting)

Old 02-04-2013, 01:33 AM   #3
Spintab
Recipes 

Liked 36 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Subscribing to this because I fear what you are asking for doesn't exist and I'm hoping someone will prove that wrong. I've had several gluten free beers and none were even remotely malty. More like a saison than anything. You can have nuts correct? Maybe you could heavily roast some pecans or hazelnuts or something to get the roast that sorghum won't get you.

Primary: Honey Kolsch Take 2
Kegged: Alt
Kegged: meBohPils
Bottled: Belgian Gold

Old 02-04-2013, 04:34 AM   #4
igliashon
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 60 Times on 40 Posts
Likes Given: 40