Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > A little picture for you to enjoy...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2010, 02:19 AM   #21
andrewdell19
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by fermentedhiker View Post
Since a mash can run for 45-1hr and beyond I can't see why steeping them would cause a problem. In fact if I was going to bother to steep them that long I'd probably at least make an attempt at a basic infusion mash with alpha amylase to get even more out if it.
Can you explain "basic mash infusion with alpha amylase"... I am relatively new to brewing (about 15 GF beers). Sorry if that is a dumb question.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-05-2010, 02:34 AM   #22
Lcasanova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by fermentedhiker View Post
Since a mash can run for 45-1hr and beyond I can't see why steeping them would cause a problem. In fact if I was going to bother to steep them that long I'd probably at least make an attempt at a basic infusion mash with alpha amylase to get even more out if it.
DUH good point

Old 11-05-2010, 02:51 AM   #23
fermentedhiker
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdell19 View Post
Can you explain "basic mash infusion with alpha amylase"... I am relatively new to brewing (about 15 GF beers). Sorry if that is a dumb question.
Not a dumb question at all. I'm fairly new to brewing beer myself. Been mucking about with wine/cider etc... for years but only recently got the malt bug. So I'm sure someone will give a better explanation than I, but here goes;
Here's a link that might explain it
http://www.beersmith.com/blog/2008/0...on-mash-setup/