New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Help with light GF beer

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2011, 12:34 PM   #11
dorklord
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tlsaudio View Post
@dorklord: From what ive read in this thread if you keep the OG low and add the Amylase in secondary it gives you a decent ABV while keeping the calorie/Carb count low, like Michelob ultra. Like I said i'm new to brewing and am just taking info from other people's brews.

@Lcasanova: I may just scratch the maltodextin.
You can always add the maltodextrin at bottling time if you feel the beer is 'too thin'.

That's bread yeast. Look at it sitting there, all depressed. Listless. Beer yeast doesn't look like that. It has hopes. Dreams. Something to look forward to...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2011, 06:15 PM   #12
tlsaudio
Recipes 

How different would this beer turn out if I substituted sorghum for the brown rice syrup? Ive got a tub white sorghum in the fridge and my local homebrew shop is out of rice syrup. It will be a couple of weeks for them to restock, and I'd rather buy from them instead of the online shops.

Old 01-28-2011, 06:35 PM   #13
dorklord
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
How different would this beer turn out if I substituted sorghum for the brown rice syrup? Ive got a tub white sorghum in the fridge and my local homebrew shop is out of rice syrup. It will be a couple of weeks for them to restock, and I'd rather buy from them instead of the online shops.
Sorghum will make it...sorghumy.

But heck, go for it. Sorghum should also provide the nutrients your yeast needs (something lacking in the rice syrup.)

You can always make it with the rice syrup in a month or so when your LHBS has it on hand.