Home Brew Forums

Home Brew Forums (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/forum.php)
-   Gluten Free Brewing (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f164/)
-   -   Gluten Free Beer Ingredient List (http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f164/gluten-free-beer-ingredient-list-172558/)

DKershner 04-09-2010 06:00 PM

Gluten Free Beer Ingredient List
 
"Malt" and Adjuncts:
  • Sorghum, both in raw form, Syrup Extract, and Syrup itself. The syrup extract is the closest thing to barley in terms of FAN, enzymes, and sugar content, but imparts a tangy, bitter, or citrusy aftertaste. This is the most highly used ingredient in gluten free beer. The syrup itself has unknown properties at this time for brewing. Raw form is also fairly unknown. Note: The roots of raw sorghum can contain cyanide and must be removed.
  • Brown Rice Syrup and Solids. Imparts a slight sweetness in taste to the brew, but ferments out similarly to sorghum or malt extract. Little FAN, may have problems converting on it's own.
  • Buckwheat, raw. Imparts a slight wheat-like flavor that can change with how long it is roasted. Often used for color. No enzymes.
  • Chestnut chips. Closest to barley flavor of the gluten free grains. No enzymes, so they must be added, typically amylase is used.
  • Corn Sugar, table sugar, candi sugar, corn syrup, etc. All impart their own colors and flavors and can be used as in gluten beer.
  • Maltodextrin. MOST of the time this ingredient is gluten free, especially in the US, check with your provider to be sure. Used for additional body in the beer.
  • Rice. Minute Rice is suggested to be used due to its ability to convert itself.
  • Oats. Make sure you get ones designated as 'gluten free' or else they could be crop rotated with wheat or packaged using equipment that also does wheat containing products. Used for mouthfeel, body, and head retention.
  • "Light" molasses= 90% fermentable
  • Blackstrap molasses = 50% fermentable
Approximate equivalent gluten free grain by common beer grain as matched by nutritional information*:
Wheat ~ Millet, Teff
Barley ~ Sorghum, Chestnuts
Rye ~ Buckwheat
Oats ~ GF Oats (duh), Quinoa, Amaranth

Hops:
All hops are gluten free.

Yeast:

Yeasts that are completely gluten free:
  • All Fermentis Safale and Saflager Dry Yeasts - US05, S04, S33, T58, WB06, etc.
  • All Danstar/Lallemand/DCL Labs Dry Yeast Products - Nottingham, Windsor, etc.
  • Red Star Wine and Champagne Yeast - Montrachet, Pasteur, etc.

Yeasts that are almost gluten free:
  • White Labs Yeast - All including Wine and Mead Yeast
  • This Yeast contains 12ppm in the slurry, a number slightly above the less than 10ppm requirement to be called gluten free. However, the final product (5gal of beer) only has 2ppm.

Yeasts that are not gluten free:
  • Any Wyeast Yeast, including Wine and Mead Yeast

For strategies on how to reduce or eliminate gluten from yeast, see this link.

Any additions or suggestions, let me know.

Links to other helpful stuff:
* Source: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f164/gf-grain-equivalents-168609/

uechikid 04-09-2010 06:35 PM

Should Be Made A Sticky
 
Nice list. Thanks

dorklord 04-09-2010 07:17 PM

Awesome, although perhaps under the sorghum we should break down the syrup, as there are 2 types: the sorghum liquid extract you can buy from say your HB supply, (from what I understand this is generally from Breiss) and the sorghum syrup you can buy at the grocery store/farmers' market/Amish buggy.

Sorghum liquid extract is made from sorghum grain, and looks and acts a lot like LME.

Sorghum syrup (aka sorghum molasses) from your Amish friend is made by boiling down the juice from crushed stalks, and looks and tastes much more like molasses. I don't know for sure how differently this would react in brewing (I do have half a gallon of the stuff, though, so I'll find out eventually).

DKershner 04-09-2010 07:21 PM

I was under the impression they were one in the same...I wonder what Briess adds that changes the flavor...

dorklord 04-09-2010 07:49 PM

I don't think it is that they add anything. I think the difference is that they getting an extract from the grain (seeds), while sorghum syrup is made from the sap.

DKershner 04-09-2010 08:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dorklord (Post 1997400)
I don't think it is that they add anything. I think the difference is that they getting an extract from the grain (seeds), while sorghum syrup is made from the sap.

Makes some sense I guess. Briess:

Quote:

Enzymatically produced from the starchy heads of the grain, not the cane, of the sorghum plant, BriesSweet™ White Sorghum Syrup

dorklord 04-09-2010 09:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dkershner (Post 1997468)
Makes some sense I guess. Briess:

I saw somewhere on their site that they don't malt the sorghum (and I've read a few articles about malting it, and it sounds like a PIA because the grains are so dang small). So if they are extracting enzymatically, that means they're doing a mash with amylase...

If I get around to trying all grain, I might just give that a shot. Of course, it may be that malting it first is worth it, as it may be that some of the flavors we're getting in sorghum extract are the result of extracting from 'green', unmalted, presumably un-kilned and unroasted, grain?

I'm getting to far out on a theoretical limb here. I'd say I need a beer, but I'm someplace I can't have a beer. :(

BBBF 04-10-2010 02:16 AM

Briess isn't from malted grain. They get it the same way as he "other" syrup, but you don't want to brew with that. I know from experience.

Lcasanova 04-10-2010 03:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by dorklord (Post 1997612)
I saw somewhere on their site that they don't malt the sorghum (and I've read a few articles about malting it, and it sounds like a PIA because the grains are so dang small). So if they are extracting enzymatically, that means they're doing a mash with amylase...

If I get around to trying all grain, I might just give that a shot. Of course, it may be that malting it first is worth it, as it may be that some of the flavors we're getting in sorghum extract are the result of extracting from 'green', unmalted, presumably un-kilned and unroasted, grain?

I'm getting to far out on a theoretical limb here. I'd say I need a beer, but I'm someplace I can't have a beer. :(

Home malting is a PITA but, I did some sorghum here

And as far as I know, they aren't extracting the syrup we are getting from the grains, but from the stalks themselves

dorklord 04-10-2010 03:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by lcasanova (Post 1998096)
Home malting is a PITA but, I did some sorghum here

And as far as I know, they aren't extracting the syrup we are getting from the grains, but from the stalks themselves

Quote:

Briess isn't from malted grain. They get it the same way as he "other" syrup, but you don't want to brew with that. I know from experience.
BriesSweet™ White Sorghum Syrup 45DE High Maltose is a gluten free, 100% concentrated wort made from the unmalted grain, not the cane, of the white sorghum plant.
From here

While the sorghum syrup you can get at a grocery store:
Sorghum syrup made from cane sorghum is made by squeezing the juice from the cane and cooking off the excess water to obtain a sweet, sticky syrup - a delicacy in many parts of the country.

So, according to Briess, they get their stuff from the unmalted grain, not the 'cane' (stalk).

I'm not sure what the difference is, exactly, but if you pour some of each out, you can tell they aren't the same.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:21 PM.

Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.