Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > GF Brewing with Chestnuts

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2010, 04:13 PM   #21
Leeinwa
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Brix

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonoles10 View Post
Its cooking time...sitting at 150 now for at least an hour. I am already surprised at how much the mash smells like barley. Its a little different, but very similar. I've never used the brix scale before, am I converting right....8 brix equals 1.032?

You use brix but you just don't realize it. If you have a triple hydrometer it's one of the scales. Also called "balling". Brix is just % sugar. SG 1.032 is about 9% suger which will give you potential alcohol ABV of about 5-6 % at end of brew. I use the refractometer because it ony takes a couple of drops of wort and you don't have to read it in a tank.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-06-2010, 04:18 PM   #22
Leeinwa
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default Honey

Quote:
Good stuff! Am I doing my calculations correct with the honey? I'm trying to figure out how much honey to add to raise the gravity if I need to. 1 pound honey in one gallon of water equals 1.035? So, 5 pounds in ten gallons is half that, or 1.017?
Depends. First time around I'd add honey until you get to the SG you want and then log results in your brewing journal so you'll know in the future.

Old 02-06-2010, 04:40 PM   #23
Gonoles10
Recipes 

What can go wrong will go wrong. I just dropped my hydrometer on the concrete. Gonna have to go without it...and I'm not even drinking

Old 02-07-2010, 02:17 AM   #24
Leeinwa
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Quote:
What can go wrong will go wrong. I just dropped my hydrometer on the concrete. Gonna have to go without it...and I'm not even drinking