Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > GF Brewing with Chestnuts

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-05-2010, 11:14 PM   #11
mattinboston
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gonoles10 View Post
Alright, here is my plan, feel free to critique it as I am not a rocket scientist. I plan on doing the Northern Brewer "Tongue Splitter" recipe as listed above, but will substitute 20 pounds of chestnut chips (1/2 medium roast, and 1/2 light roast) and 5 lbs of honey for the fermentables. I think that will get me close to 1.05 to 1.06 starting gravity. What do you think?
Wow - how did you come up with the 20lbs chestnut chips & 5lbs honey for the 1.06 OG? Are you talking about a 10 gal batch instead of the 5? I'm not being critical, but in a 5-gal batch it looks to me at a glance like you're going to be making a huge alcohol content brew. It looks much higher than the recipe you posted if you manage to convert at a decent rate.

I have no experience with honey, but my understanding is that it is mostly fermentable. In a 5-gal batch it looks like you could get to 7 or 8% with just the 20lbs of chestnuts (with amylaze). Adding the honey too... well... I'll be very interested in your results!

LeeinWA - any thoughts if you're watching this thread?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2010, 11:25 PM   #12
DKershner
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 25 Times on 21 Posts

Honey is more or less = to corn sugar. You won't taste it much at all, its highly fermentable.

I have no idea what fermentability chestnuts have, but it does look like a lot of sugar in there...for a 5gal 1.06 anyway.

Old 02-06-2010, 02:36 AM   #13
Gonoles10
Recipes