Originally Posted by wardenwheat
Ok,this may be a dumb question, but I don't want to spend all day searching forums for the answer........
Never brewed gf beer, but looked at some links and see syrup and sugar as the main ingredients. I'm an all grain brewer. Is it possible to do an all grain gluten free beer??
If so, what grains.
So far we have not found any gluten free grains with the enzymes to convert itself, which means you need to add enzymes. Obtaining certain enzymes is difficult, and without them it is difficult to get as good of conversion as glutenous mashes.
On top of this, there are hardly any malted gluten free grains anyway, so you have to malt your own grains. You would also have to roast them if you want any specialty grains.
Basically, sure you can, but be prepared to do a lot of research into enzymes and having trouble purchasing them. All grain gluten free is much more difficult than normal all grain brewing.