Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Chestnuts: my GF-brewing God-send...

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-15-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
mattinboston
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Chestnuts: my GF-brewing God-send...

Hi guys - I'm newly registered, though I've been trolling this forum off and on for a couple years now and appreciate all the help!

Anyway, I found out I was highly gluten-intolerant about 6 months ago and therefore have accelerated my homebrewing pace in order to drink good interesting beer again! I think it's the challenge, though maybe the recent purchase of kegging equipment has had an impact too!......

I searched on the forum a little and I can't seem to find anything on using chestnut chips with amylase enzyme as a base for a GF brew. I'm surprised at that... I did some research a few months back and have brewed 4 batches with chestnuts toasted to different levels with great results.

I've tried american pale ales, IIPA's, and recently a killer american cream ale with chestnuts as my only constant. I've mixed in some sorghum syrup, buckwheat, and corn sugar, etc... but all have been good so far and pretty close to style. I'm thinking about lagering in my next chestnut brew.

Anyone else using chestnuts out there in your GF brews? Results? Secrets?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-15-2010, 10:32 PM   #2
aggieotis
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Being from Texas I thought Chestnuts were just something in Nat King Cole songs.

I would be interested to hear more about how you'd brew with them. Ultimately if it makes sugar, has FAN, and avoids gluten, then I'm all for trying to make a beer out of it.

Old 01-15-2010, 11:45 PM   #3
Lcasanova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Quote:
Originally Posted by aggieotis View Post