Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Gluten Free Brewing > Caramelized Honey for color

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-25-2010, 09:31 PM   #1
frogguruami
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Caramelized Honey for color

I brewed a GF stout this weekend and in an effort to darken the color I added a batch of Bochet that I had been sitting on for a few months to the boil water.

It was made by cooking 3 lbs of honey for 8 to 10 hours in the crock pot and mixing with 1 gallon of water then fermenting with montrechet yeast. I figure the fermentation has already removed the sugars and the boil would remove most of the alcohol so I didn't have to worry about adding too much to the OG. The Bochet has no discernible sweetness to it because the honey is VERY carmelized and has a bitterness to it that reminds me of the bitterness you get from heavily roasted grains. I thought that might work well in a stout. Here is a picture of the Bochet so you can get an idea of how dark it is.

The brew came out VERY dark and I was very please with the initial taste. Here is a picture of the brew. Unfortunately it isn't such a great picture. The steam kept fogging up my phone.

I will post pictures next week when I rack to to the secondary and update on the flavor.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-26-2010, 01:40 PM   #2
Lcasanova
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Can't wait to see how this turns out...might be the way I get my brews darker without the risk of adding burnt grains

Old 05-26-2010, 03:08 PM   #3
dorklord
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Sounds like a good idea. I was thinking about using some caramelized sugar to try darkening a beer, but of course that is going to contribute a ?? amount of fermentable sugar.