LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2012, 09:44 AM   #1
400d
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default 100% buckwheat ale

hey guys, I'm new to GF brewing. it seems that I might have gluten intolerance. at this moment I'm waiting for the results of blood analysis....

meanwhile, I'm reading about GF brewing, just in case.

I wonder is it possible to brew 100% buckwheat malt beer? let's say I can malt 10lb of buckwheat.... can I use it as only fermentable in my grain bill?

thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-29-2012, 02:06 PM   #2
muench1
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Hmm, good question.

From Alcohol, Its Production, Properties, Chemistry, And Industrial Applications:

Quote:
[unmalted] Wheat contains a good proportion of diastase, but not enough to give the full yield of alcohol unless some malt is added. Buckwheat approximates to wheat...
From Kilning conditions for the optimization of enzyme levels in buckwheat:
Quote: