Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast Starters

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2010, 03:33 AM   #1
noreaster40s
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Yeast Starters

I've been brewing pretty steady for a couple years now and am still learning. During all that time I've never used a yeast starter. I brew in 5 gallon batches both extract and all grain and have been using mostly liquid yeasts. I've often wondered about using a yeast starter but from what I've read I shouldn't need to for 5 gallon batches as long as it's not a real high gravity beer.

So what does everyone else do and why? Do most of you use starters just to be sure everything is ok? I don't believe I've had any issues with my fermentation that I'm aware of so am wondering if I should even worry about this. Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-31-2010, 03:54 AM   #2
Scut_Monkey
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts

Anytime I'm using liquid yeast I use a starter. I find that I get a faster starting ferment and a cleaner beer in the end. The main reason I use them are to increase the cell count to the proper pitching level. Additionally, you will find that the viability of a vial of yeast drops relatively quickly. A starter counteracts this. The best source for determining pitching rates and if you need is a starter is below.

http://www.mrmalty.com/calc/calc.html

Old 12-31-2010, 02:19 PM   #3
DrawTap88
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 10

+1 to everything Scut Monkey said. Another advantage of using a starter is to help control esters and/or beer flavors. With my hefe's I've been doing a proper starter with the calculations at mrmalty.com and not getting the flavors I want, so now I can fiddle around with the pitch rate to see if I can get the flavor I want by "beating up on the yeast count."