Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast nutrient...anyone use it?
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2012, 04:45 AM   #1
dregus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So. California, California
Posts: 75
Default Yeast nutrient...anyone use it?

Does anyone use yeast nutrient in their starters or in the carbon for fermentation? I thought I had read that you should use it and it has been awhile since I made a starter. I can't remember when to add the nutrient.

Is it even necessary? I am trying to grow enough yeast for a 32 gallon batch from a white labs vile. I plan to create 3 starters, successively larger over three days and ending with a 6 liter yeast starter.

Is this insane?

__________________
dregus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 05:13 AM   #2
Shrimpboat
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: MA/ Usa
Posts: 18
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch

__________________
Shrimpboat is offline
amandabab Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 05:52 AM   #3
tally350z
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
 
tally350z's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,173
Liked 77 Times on 65 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shrimpboat View Post
why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch
+1..
__________________
Toasting Tortoise Brewery
Primary - Smoked Belgium
Secondary - SOUR TORTOISE
Kegged
- Burton IPA, Munich Lager, Cream Ale
Bottled - Muscadine Port, Imperial Stout

North Florida Brewers League
tally350z is online now
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 11:57 AM   #4
diS
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,018
Liked 45 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

I add nutrient to my stepped starter, I store my yeast frozen in glycerin solution and my though is that in that condition they need more nutrient than is available in wort for starter.
Never added it to whole batch, there should be plenty of nutrients to keep them healthy.

__________________

We are only 10,000 years into beer... there are thousands of years left to go!
Things are bound to change!!

Brewroom with HERMS build
Fermentation chamber and Keezer.. a.k.a. FermKeezer

diS is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 12:02 PM   #5
paulster2626
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
paulster2626's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,839
Liked 327 Times on 218 Posts
Likes Given: 530

Default

Nah, I used to, but found I get the exact same results sans-nutrients.

Now I just sprinkle it on my eggs at breakfast. Keeps me going until lunch.

__________________
paulster2626 is offline
bizarrojosh Likes This 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 12:07 PM   #6
ajwillys
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Holly Springs, NC
Posts: 1,315
Liked 23 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 34

Default

Any time I do a super high gravity batch or I re-use yeast, I use a bit of yeast nutrient. If I was doing a "strained starter" from a bank or capturing from a bottle I would also use it.

__________________
ajwillys is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 01:08 PM   #7
dregus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So. California, California
Posts: 75
Default

Thanks for the input. Does the amount of nutrient matter? Can you use to much? When do you add the nutrient in the process of making the starter?

__________________
dregus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 01:09 PM   #8
dregus
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So. California, California
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrimpboat
Why not make a 5 or 10 gallon batch and use the yeast cake for your larger batch
This is a great idea but I don't have e time to brew the original batch.
__________________
dregus is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 01:43 PM   #9
phuff7129
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Lino Lakes, MN
Posts: 558
Liked 39 Times on 34 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

I use nutrient made by Wyeast. I prefer it over the urea based LD Carlson nutrient. I don't like putting urine in my beer!

__________________

This might be the beer talking....but I really love beer!

phuff7129 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2012, 02:12 PM   #10
osagedr
Recovering from Sobriety
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
osagedr's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 2,480
Liked 96 Times on 80 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Default

I always toss a quarter teaspoon into my starter while it is boiling. Have never used nutrient in the main batch but I should try it.

__________________

2012 Canadian Brewer of the Year
2013 Canadian Brewer of the Year

@evilgoatbrewing

osagedr is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools