New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Yeast Harvesting Gravity Limits

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2011, 08:21 PM   #1
OldManHouston
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 2

Default Yeast Harvesting Gravity Limits

So I've harvested a few batches of yeast from lower gravity brews (<1.060) at this point. Now I'm wondering, if you pitch the proper amount of yeast in the first place at what gravity does it become not such a good idea to harvest the yeast from a batch? I would think that if the proper amount of yeast is pitched, you could harvest off beers of 1.070 but I'm no yeast expert. That being said, I wouldn't consider harvesting off a brew that started much higher than 1.070. I know brewers yeast is alcohol tolerant but has it limits.

Most of my brews are in the 1.060 - 1.075 range and would like to know whether harvesting from these is a good idea or not.

Apologies if this has been discussed already but my searches weren't coming up with much.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-06-2011, 08:47 PM   #2
Bensiff
Mind Your Business
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 288 Times on 233 Posts
Likes Given: 53

Generally lower gravity lower hops equals best viability. At those gravity ranges it isn't ideal, but you probably would get away with a repitch, where it will really impact things is asking them to go multiple generations in that environment.

Old 01-07-2011, 12:16 AM   #3
theredben
Recipes 

Liked 23 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bensiff View Post
where it will really impact things is asking them to go multiple generations in that environment.
Not quite sure I would agree with this idea, if the yeast have survived(actually thirived) the fermentation process once, why can't they do it again?

In a higher gravity beer you will just a larger yeast population, they work just as normal.

Old 01-07-2011, 01:06 AM   #4