Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > wyeast 3711 temp schedule

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-24-2012, 03:45 PM   #1
Zeppman
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default wyeast 3711 temp schedule

Hey guys,

I've never used this yeast before and have very limited experience with belgian and saison yeasts in general. Any tips on ferm temps with this strain for your average 1.05-1.06 beer?

I was going to go with something like 65 for first 3 days, 68-70 for 3 days, then upper 70s for a week or so? No idea here and just guessing based off what I've read.

Thanks for the help!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-24-2012, 06:12 PM   #2
kmos
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 14

A pretty standard schedule is to pitch at 68 and raise the temperature over the course of active fermentation, a couple degrees a day til you are in the upper 70s/low 80s.

That being said, this is my go-to saison yeast, and I usually pitch at 68 and just let it free-rise in whatever ambient temperature I've got (Right now it's about 75 in my house). I have always been pleased with the results.

The real rule of thumb is, if you want fruity esters, ramp up the temp (especially in the beginning days of active fermentation); if you want a cleaner profile, ferment on the lower end of the spectrum.

Primary: Saison; German Black Ale;
Secondary: n/a
In the Barrel: English Mild;
Bottled/Kegged: Oud Bruin (ECY23); English Mild;
Up Next: Ordinary Bitter;

Old 09-24-2012, 06:41 PM   #3
sweetcell
Swollen Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 720 Times on 531 Posts
Likes Given: 277

what kmos said.