Kegconnection Complete Starter Kit and More Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Wyeast 3711 French Saison

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2013, 02:25 PM   #661
phuff7129
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 38 Times on 33 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Quote:
Originally Posted by tagz
There are a lot of conflicting reports about temp with 3711 but I got much better flavor from 70-80 than 60-70.
That's good information. My understanding is at lower temps ester production will be somewhat muted and phenol production will be emphasized. I have read that a great way to manage fermentation on a Saison is to start it on the low end of temp and increase the temp into the 80's over approx. 5 days. It's thought that this gives you the best phenol and ester production.
I am new to brewing saisons and I wanted to be able to experiment with different types of fermentation and some different types of yeast. Also I've had a few saisons which I thought were just too funky and I thought it might be from high ester production so I decided to keep this fermentation cool to inhibit ester production to see if that suits my taste. When I checked gravity it smelled and tasted great. I can't wait to get it carbed. Here's a question. What level to you guys carb your saisons and do you bottle or keg?

This might be the beer talking....but I really love beer!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-09-2013, 07:22 PM   #662
Polboy
Recipes 

Liked 33 Times on 27 Posts
Likes Given: 15

Quote:
Originally Posted by phuff7129 View Post

That's good information. My understanding is at lower temps ester production will be somewhat muted and phenol production will be emphasized. I have read that a great way to manage fermentation on a Saison is to start it on the low end of temp and increase the temp into the 80's over approx. 5 days. It's thought that this gives you the best phenol and ester production.