The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > White labs California Ale WLP001

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-24-2009, 06:07 PM   #1
KCBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default White labs California Ale WLP001

I am making the AHS promotional IPA right now. It is 6 days into the primary fermentation, after about 12 hours it had a nice krausen, I was gone for the weekend and when I came back (day 5) the krausen had largely subsided, but there was still about an inch of 'krausen' that was kind of glassy with larger bubbles than I'm used to seeing on a 'normal' krausen.

I am rather new to brewing, this being my 5th batch. Previously I've used a WYeast American Ale yeast and a Nottingham. I've never seen this type of Krausen (or for this duration as a matter of fact).

So I've already R and DW and I HAHB, but I was wondering what type of variation you guys normally see in the texture, density &c., of your krausen depending on differing worts and yeasts.

THanks!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-24-2009, 07:35 PM   #2
chode720
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Yes, I have noticed that most yeasts have different characteristics with the size, texture, etc of the krausen. However, I cant tell you too much about my experience with Cal Ale as I dont pay too much attention to what the krausen looks like, only those that I need a blow off tube for or not.

Primary1: Pumpkin Ale
Primary2: Christmas Ale
Pimary3: Apfelwein
Secondary: Sour Brown
Drinking: Warrior Pale Ale, Wit, American Rye

Old 11-24-2009, 07:38 PM   #3
dunnright00
Recipes 

Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 14

I'm using this yeast right now and, yes I did see a little bit different krausen kind of like what you're describing.

I was a little worried at first, but I decided to relax and now the krausen has all but gone away.

"I'm sittin' here, completely surrounded by No Beer!" - Onslow