New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > When should I expect bubbles?

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2012, 03:52 PM   #1
bibowski
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default When should I expect bubbles?

I'm VERY new to homebrewing, but I did everything pretty much by the book for a batch 2 nights ago and I ran downstairs this morning excited to see some bubbling from the fermentation in my brew... but alas... there was nada.

The brew was sealed and put in my laundry room exactly 38 hours ago, am I still too early to expect to see anything?

The reason I'm worried it might not have started, is because my laundry room was a freezing cold 16 degrees celsius. From what I understand, that will just slow down the yeast dramatically, not kill it.

I've since moved it (very carefully) to my basement where it's a bit warmer, about 18 or so.

The brew is a pilsner, which apparantely can still ferment at a very low temp, but is there anything else I should watch out for?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-27-2012, 03:59 PM   #2
Grimm
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

knowing what yeast you used as well as your gravity and or process would be helpful.

Old 06-27-2012, 04:03 PM   #3
bibowski
Recipes 

It was a Coopers malt extract kit.

The yeast came with the kit, and I never took gravity readings before the airlock went on. The bin doesn't have a spigot unfortunately so I would have to siphon some out to get a reading.

The process was :

1. Boiled 2 litres of water, added malt extract can and 1 cup of dextrose
  2. dumped wort into 20 litres of water
  3. got temp to approx 22C
  4. pitched yeast
  5. put on lid and airlock

Old 06-27-2012, 04:05 PM   #4
Gameface
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 139 Times on 89 Posts
Likes Given: 193

You may have a leaky lid and/or grommet. That'd be my first guess.