New Giveaway - Wort Monster Conical Fermenter!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Very Violent fermentation!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-13-2010, 10:30 PM   #1
Quarters
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Very Violent fermentation!

I pitched my yeast about 3 days ago. I went to check on it last night and I noticed that the lid on my air lock was off and on the ground. I looked a little closer and saw that foam had blown up and all over my primary fermenter. It made quite the mess! I am very new to home brewing and was wondering if this is a rare thing to happen or not???

Thanks

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-13-2010, 10:34 PM   #2
Yambor44
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 43 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 5

It can be normal. Called a blow off. You need to make a blow off tube. Take a piece of siphon tubing. Stick it through the stopper that your airlock currently resides in. Stick the other end into a tub/bottle/etc filled with water.

Old 04-13-2010, 10:36 PM   #3
Yambor44

Recipes 

Look here:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f39/can-blow-off-tube-fit-fermenter-bucket-167585/

Old 04-13-2010, 10:42 PM   #4
Hethen57
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts

I found the same thing when I went to check on my Creme Ale this morning (day 3 also)...it was awesome that I caught it before it blew off....same thing happened a few weeks ago, but I had to find the airlock because it did blow. I think it is pretty common, that is why many use blow off tubes. I changed mine over to a blow off tube and it continued bubbling away. I just took my siphon hose and stuck it into the airlock tube (all sanitized, of course), then put it into a jar of sanitizer. You'll be amazed how much C02 blows through there is you have an active germentation.

Old 04-13-2010, 10:43 PM   #5
Chipman
Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 1