Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Winners Re-Re-Re-Re-Drawn - 24 hours to Claim!

Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Underpitched = off flavours?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2014, 05:34 AM   #1
403Brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default Underpitched = off flavours?

So I recently brewed an ESB and pitched with Wyeast 1968 ESB yeast, I know that its a bit of a difficult yeast (and beer) to get just right but I way overshot my OG and that gave me a way undersized yeast starter. I'm not a yeast expert so I'm just wondering what effects under pitching will have, I think I might be under by as much as 62 billion cells (using Beersmith calc). I did get good fermentation, went from 1.07 to 1.02 but the beer tastes like ****, basically just good for getting drunk and probably hungover. I did a diacetyl rest and had fermentation temps in the proper range also.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 06:00 AM   #2
Corey_SS
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 28 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 26

I've never used that particular yeast, but with underpitching you can get more esters being produced. Banana, stone fruit, horse rectum, etc. Those usually aren't desirable. It may also be why you finished at 1.020, but obviously I don't know your recipe.

Goji rice wine
S'mores Ale
cheddarhed3 Likes This 
Old 02-22-2014, 06:01 AM   #3
casesensative
Recipes 

Liked 9 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Underpitching is a definite cause of many different off flavors as you are stressing the yeast when you do that. Consistent fermentation temp is another very important thing.

Old 02-23-2014, 02:20 AM   #4
Ari
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts