The Great Bottle Opener Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Too Big of a Starter

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2013, 02:55 PM   #1
muse435
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 16 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Too Big of a Starter

I have never used a starter before but am planning on using one for the first time on my next brew. My question is can you make a starter too big? Everything I have read claims that started are the way to go because 1) you know the yeast is viable 2) you have more yeast at the start of fermentation. I feel that there has to be a limit to the benefit of increasing the size of the starter. I have seen starter calculators but have never used one. I apologize if this is a dumb question but would appreciate any help I can get. Thank you.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2013, 02:58 PM   #2
Dolomieu
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 52 Times on 45 Posts
Likes Given: 98

From what I have read here and in the yeast book, yes you can over pitch. I use the Mr malty calculator and have seen it referred to in similar responses to posts like yours.

Draft beer, Not me!!! - Belching Penguin

Old 08-22-2013, 03:09 PM   #3
jhay_x7
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts

Yes, you can have too many yeast cells pitched in solution and it will cause them to behave different. If I remember correctly, you will possibly get a phenol characteristic if you over pitch.

This is what I do for my starters:

<8% ABV Ales, ~1500ml starter
>8% ABV Ales ~2000ml starter
<8% ABV Lagers ~3000ml starter
>8% ABV Lagers ~5000ml starter

Old 08-22-2013, 03:25 PM   #4
Demus
Recipes 

Liked 124 Times on 100 Posts
Likes Given: 6