Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Taking yeast from a starter for future batches?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #1
ea1154
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 6

Default Taking yeast from a starter for future batches?

I am very new to home brewing so keep that in mind. I was wondering if I can take a portion of the yeast starter and put in back in the vile the original yeast came in and store it (up to 3 months) for use in a starter for another batch. how many times could you repeat this cycle before wanting to buy a new yeast culture? I understand all the sanitation and things that would go along with this I am just unsure if the yeast would go bad or taste funny. I usually use about 2/3 cup of extra light DME and about 3 1/2 cups of water with some yeast nutrient in my starter if that matters?

-Eric

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-02-2012, 08:12 PM   #2
stpug
Recipes 

Liked 368 Times on 320 Posts
Likes Given: 171

The way I understand it, you are probably making a starter about the correct size for a single batch of standard gravity wort. You can certainly take some for a vial and put it away for future uses if you'd like - it's a relatively small amount IMO. You should do a comparison from the height in MM of the original vial of settled yeast and your new vial of settled yeast to get a estimation of yeast cells. For instance, if the original had 50 cm of settled yeast (~100 billion cells) and your new vial has 25 cm of settled yeast then you're looking at about 50 billion cells. The next time you use this vial you'll want to build it up to a correct number of yeast cells before pitching - it may take 2 steps next time. Play around with yeastcalc.com to see what kind of yeast populations can be achieved with different starter sizes.

I'm still very new to yeast starters but that's my thoughts on it.