Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Swamp Cooler

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2012, 08:46 PM   #1
MinnesnowtaBrew
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Swamp Cooler

Just put my American Rye ale in the swamp cooler yesterday. This is my first time using one. My question is, how do you know exact temps inside or know how cold to keep your water. I've been using ice bottles, but I don't want to take the lid off to take a temp and possibly infect.

Note: my glass Carboy is being used and I ruined my sticky temp strip, getting a new one today but just want to see what you guys do.

image-871006890.jpg

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-12-2012, 08:55 PM   #2
Bombo80
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

It depends on what temp you are trying to achieve. I typically only use a swamp cooler during the summer months, when I have decided to brew a lager and need the cooler temps.

I usually run all my ales at normal room temp to start, then put them in the basement which is around 60*. After I rack to the secondary, I may let it sit if another week or two, then bring it back upstairs to a slightly warmer room around 70+* for a couple days, to finish. Then rack into bottling bucket with your priming sugar, or rack right into my kegs.

On Deck - Crabapple Wine

Secondary - Pomegranate Wine, Red Table Wine, Wild Fox Grape Wine, Blueberry Wine, Surly Furious clone

Bulk Aging - Brewtopia Barleywine, Sugar Beet Wine

Old 11-12-2012, 08:59 PM   #3
StoneHands
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 9

I assume that the swamp water is the same temp as the fermenting beer (attempting to get some data to back this up). I'll take a temp reading a couple of times a day on the water, using my thermapen now, but I used to use a floating thermometer and just leave it in the bath.