Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > sulfur ferment smell & raisin tasting beer?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2010, 11:52 PM   #1
bc_brewer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default sulfur ferment smell & raisin tasting beer?

I am new to brewing (this is my first post here as well). Anyway, I brewed an amber about a month ago, and i had that sulfur smell like crazy during fermentation. Subsequently, two things happened. 1- i am no longer allowed to ferment in the closet. 2- My beer tasted like it had prune juice poured into it! Could the latter be caused by stressed yeast or something? Cheers!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2010, 12:02 AM   #2
indigi
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Tell us what your recipe was, what yeast you used, fermentation temps, and how exactly it tastes like prune juice (specific flavors/tastes would be helpful) and we'll be able to help a lot more. For all I know you could have chucked 8 pounds of old raisins into secondary

Old 12-06-2010, 08:03 AM   #3
bc_brewer
Recipes