Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Storing Washed Yeast--Refrigeration Necessary?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2012, 05:56 PM   #11
ColoHox
Compulsive Hand Washer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 173 Times on 136 Posts
Likes Given: 197

Quote:
Originally Posted by bizarrojosh View Post
They can survive for a long period of time without food and water, but ultimately, they will die. This process seems to happen faster when not cooled.
That's exactly right.

Quote:
I need scientists to help me out.
I'm no dogfish brewer, but I have a masters in microbiology and just defended my PhD in bacteriology.

Bacteria are the only culture some people have.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2012, 06:03 PM   #12
bmeyer46
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 10

I wonder what the alcohol tolerence of yeast is...I realize different strains would be more or less tolerant, but since alcohol keeps the yeast from going bad in the fermentor, could a small amount of alcohol and sterilized water be used?
just kicking around the idea...we do need out chemists!! LOL

Old 12-07-2012, 08:06 PM   #13
ColoHox
Compulsive Hand Washer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by bmeyer46 View Post
I wonder what the alcohol tolerence of yeast is...I realize different strains would be more or less tolerant, but since alcohol keeps the yeast from going bad in the fermentor, could a small amount of alcohol and sterilized water be used?
just kicking around the idea...we do need out chemists!! LOL
Different strains have different alcohol tolerances. Alcohol does not keep yeast from going bad, technically it is a waste product of yeast metabolism. In fact, increasing alcohol concentrations will eventually kill yeast. Alcohol in the fermented beer prevents other microorganisms, with no alcohol tolerance, from growing.