Happy HolidaySs Giveaway - Last Sponsor Giveaway of the Year!

Come Enter the BrewDeals/FastFerment Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Specific gravity reading 1.000 - help please

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2012, 12:10 PM   #1
Wcampbell
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Specific gravity reading 1.000 - help please

I'm new at this and completed brewing an IPA a few days ago. The OG was 1.041 and the yeast seemed to be fermenting normally. I checked the SG yesterday, as the foam had subsided, and the SG was at 1.000 (same as water). The brew smells and tastes fine but the numbers aren't adding up. What should I do? Buy a new hydrometer? Pitch it and start over? Add new yeast?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-20-2012, 12:16 PM   #2
DGibb
Recipes 

Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 35

How long has this been in primary? Starting at 1.041 and finishing at 1.000 would yield a 5.4% ABV brew.

Did you use a kit? If you did, did the directions predict the final gravity?

All that the final gravity of 1.000 means is that the density of the beer is the same as water; that all of the sugars have fermented out.

There is absolutely no reason to repitch yeast or pitch the beer! The yeast did its job! Relax, don't worry, have a home brew (or if you're new to this, a craft brew).

Old 01-20-2012, 12:49 PM   #3
Brewskii
Recipes 

Liked 114 Times on 65 Posts

Gravity is a measure of suspended solids in relation to water. Another way to think of it is how thick it is as compared to pure water at roughly room temp.
In a nutshell, beer is sugar ( thicker than water = value greater than 1.000), water( water = 1.000), and alcohol ( thinner than water = value less than 1.000).
When you take a measurement in fermented beer you are measuring the result of all of these things. Therefore it is quite possible to have a 1.000 and have absolutely nothing wrong with anything.