Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > To Secondary or Not? John Palmer and Jamil Zainasheff Weigh In

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-20-2012, 01:07 PM   #381
Pilgarlic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 125 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheKeggingPart View Post
but over a long enough time period, diffusion should cause homogeneity.
Disclaimer: I'm not a scientist. This seems counterintuitive. Why wouldn't gases of different densities stratify, as liquids do? If they wouldn't stratify then, indeed, I need to rethink the "protective layer".

Thanks.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-20-2012, 01:12 PM   #382
JimTheHick
Recipes 

Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pilgarlic

Disclaimer: I'm not a scientist. This seems counterintuitive. Why would gases of different densities stratify, as liquids do? If they wouldn't stratify then, indeed, I need to rethink the "protective layer".

Thanks.
It's really more of a purge than a 'protective snugly blanket' of CO2. When co2 outgases it pushes all the other air (nitrogen/oxygen) out.

When you blast the headspace with CO2 you are purging, and then IF the Carboy is still enough it might stratify but I really doubt it. It's the purging of air that counts.

I am a scientist. But Not an atmospheric one. We 'lay down a blanket' with argon gas. But that is quite a bit more dense than CO2

Old 12-20-2012, 01:34 PM   #383
Pilgarlic
Recipes 

Liked 125 Times on 98 Posts
Likes Given: 36

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimTheHick View Post
It's really more of a purge than a 'protective snugly blanket' of CO2. When co2 outgases it pushes all the other air (nitrogen/oxygen) out.

When you blast the headspace with CO2 you are purging, and then IF the Carboy is still enough it might stratify but I really doubt it. It's the purging of air that counts.