Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Secondary Fermentation Questions

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-02-2011, 04:49 PM   #1
Seanery
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Secondary Fermentation Questions

Hi everyone, I'm new to home brewing but I'm enjoying it. I just posted my introduction in the noob forum.

I've been out of town for 12 days. I brewed a 5 gallon batch clone of Terrapin's Rye Pale Ale the night before I left. It's been in a fermenting bucket inside my hall closet since. I will be home tonite. Should I do a secondary? If so, will it need any priming sugars? Should I bottle it and do the secondary in the bottle?

Thanks in advance for the info!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-02-2011, 05:03 PM   #2
stubbornman
Recipes 

Liked 31 Times on 20 Posts
Likes Given: 67

I would give it another week and then bottle it. It will need the standard amount of priming sugar at bottling time.

Old 11-02-2011, 05:10 PM   #3
Copperpots_Brewing
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Secondary fermentation has several different uses, however, it can really help with clarity of the beer. I often use the schedule of 3 weeks in primary and sometimes 2 weeks in secondary. As long as your secondary is sealed up and the air lock is full, nothing can get in, and you can condition the beer for however long your heart desires!
I don't think you should bottle it just yet, it would be way premature. My recommendation is to transfer to a secondary in a couple days and condition it for at least a week. Then priming sugar and bottle! Don't rush it, or you'll be unhappy with results.

Old 11-02-2011, 05:13 PM   #4
Copperpots_Brewing
Recipes 

Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts