Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Second vial for my trippel?

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2013, 05:10 PM   #1
BrewPounder
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Likes Given: 1

Default Second vial for my trippel?

I'm pretty new to brewing, done a couple kits before, just started my first custom recepie. I was wondering if I should ad another vial of Trappist yeast to my batch.

Info:
In primary since March 10
OG 1.070
It's been at 70 degrees for the most part but I just checked and it's now at 77 bubbleing away at about 110 clicks a minute.
Fermentables are as follows:
6.6 lbs wheat LME
3 lbs Light Pilsen DME
1 lb Dark Candi Sugar
4 oz Aromatic Specialty Grain (steeped)

I'm not sure that hops matter for this but I have:
1 oz Saaz (bittering)
1 oz Tet (flavoring)
1 oz Hal (aroma)

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2013, 05:17 PM   #2
krenshaw
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 48 Times on 44 Posts
Likes Given: 27

did you do a starter or just throw the vial in? technically if you didn't then you should use 2 vials.. it really isnt' very cost effective to use anything other than dry yeast if you don't make starters..

since it is bubbling away you could just let it ride and see what the FG is in like 2 weeks

~ A fine beer may be judged with only one sip, but it's better to be thoroughly sure.

DOWN THE HATCH BREWING
Stainless Hop Spider | Wooden Brew Rig | Dual Hinge Keezer Build

Primaries.. oxy :-(
Keg 1: Apfelwein | Keg 2: BlackEyePA version2 | Keg 3: Summer Saison
Bottles: lots full and even more empty

Old 03-12-2013, 05:25 PM   #3
BrewPounder
Recipes 

I did not do a starter, I was thinking that I'd throw another vial in by the weekend.

Old 03-12-2013, 05:39 PM   #4
WVBeerBaron
Recipes