Spike Brewing 12.5 Conical Fermenter Giveaway - Enter Now!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Saflager S-23

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-23-2011, 11:23 PM   #1
dljones33
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Saflager S-23

So this is my first try using this yeast. My liquid yeast was old and the starter proved as much so I bought this one as my backup. I made a yeast starter with the S-23 and it took off right away. I am making a Mexican style Corona clone. I have read that this yeast can produce some serious fruity/estery notes which I want to avoid.

The question is at what temp should I ferment this batch to avoid this? I have read that this strain will do this at both at the high end and the low end so which is it? I have a temp controlled freezer for fermentation and lagering.

Thanks for your reponse...

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-23-2011, 11:41 PM   #2
Psych
Recipes 

Liked 30 Times on 28 Posts
Likes Given: 30

I have used this yeast once, and I too read a LOT of posts about fruity esthers and all sorts of bad stuff. In my experience it handled things like a champ, no issues, and no off tastes.

My fermentation was about 18 days at 50F for actual fermenting. I pitched a single pack (hydrated) at about 65F and threw it in the fridge to cool to 50. Fermentation kicked off about a day and a half later, though was likely doing something in the lag time it just wasn't visible.

I only got about a half inch of krausen the entire time, very low. No diacetyl smell/taste at all, but I did a d-rest for a couple days then threw it in the fridge at 40F for the next month.

Came out nice, it was an Oktoberfest.

Old 11-24-2011, 01:12 AM   #3
dljones33
Recipes 

What temp should I diacetyl rest this yeast and for how long?

Old 11-24-2011, 01:20 AM   #4
wailingguitar
Recipes 

Liked 95 Times on 83 Posts
Likes Given: 425