Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > questions prepping for yeast bank.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-11-2012, 07:00 PM   #1
Jeepaholic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default questions prepping for yeast bank.

I am getting my yeast bank set up. So far I have from Wyeast, Pacman 1764, Farm house 3726, Belgium strong ale 1388, Trappist high gravity 3787 and from White labs super 099.

2 questions,
Is there any others I should look into having on hand? I don't brew Lambics or sours.

Is the 1388 and 3787 different enough to keep both on hand? Big Belgium beers are my absolute Favorite style. I have not brewed any yet as I am still learning and just yesterday got a mini fridge ready for fermentation temperature as I understand they like to ferment warm.

Thanks,
Marcus

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-11-2012, 07:05 PM   #2
SiriusStarr
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 104 Times on 61 Posts
Likes Given: 90

IMHO, buy WY3864 now while it's available (October-December this year). If you like Belgian's, that's Unibroue's strain and it's fantastic, but it's only available for purchase every couple of years, because it's one of the "Private Collection" strains.

Bottled: Nothing! D:
Planned: Pliny clone. Brett cider. More 7 Stairs Pale Ale.

Old 12-11-2012, 07:15 PM   #3
Jeepaholic
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

SiriusStarr, thanks for the reply.

I'm am new to this and considering your suggestion. I do wonder what does this particular strain offer that the other 2 Belgiums i have do not?

Old 12-11-2012, 07:27 PM   #4
SiriusStarr

Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepaholic View Post
I'm am new to this and considering your suggestion. I do wonder what does this particular strain offer that the other 2 Belgiums i have do not?