*Ss Brewing Technologies Giveaway - Enter Now!*

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Question about Wyeast 1469 West Yorkshire Ale yeast

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-02-2012, 02:13 PM   #1
Mohanbrau
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Default Question about Wyeast 1469 West Yorkshire Ale yeast

I brewed NB's The Innkeeper with Wyeast 1469 last Tuesday. 5 gal batch, all-grain mash at 153F, 1 qt starter. Fermentation took off like a shot, and itquickly developed a thick, rocky kraeusen on top. I started it a 72-74F for 24 hours, then moved it to the basement at 67F.

Almost a week later, the thick kraeusen is still there, although bubbling in the airlock has slowed to a crawl. Shouldn't the foam have fallen back into the beer when fermentation slowed down? I've never used 1469 before, and never had a kraeusen head persist beyond the initial vigorous fermentation stage with any other yeast.

Is this normal for 1469? Could it be the result of an infection? Help me, Obi Wan Kenobi, you're my only hope!

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-02-2012, 05:07 PM   #2
Nugent
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 15

It's normal for 1469 to do this. The krausen takes a very long time to fall; that's if it does at all. I've had mine in primary for three weeks sometimes and there is still krausen when I keg it.

Old 07-03-2012, 12:42 AM   #3
duckmanco
Recipes 

Liked 22 Times on 22 Posts
Likes Given: 19

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohanbrau View Post
I brewed NB's The Innkeeper with Wyeast 1469 last Tuesday. 5 gal batch, all-grain mash at 153F, 1 qt starter. Fermentation took off like a shot, and itquickly developed a thick, rocky kraeusen on top. I started it a 72-74F for 24 hours, then moved it to the basement at 67F.