Get your HBT Growlers, Shirts and Membership before the Rush!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > Putting wort into yeast slant
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-02-2010, 04:50 PM   #1
Atticmonkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Salle, IL
Posts: 114
Default Putting wort into yeast slant

I read in a few places about when it comes time to make a starter from a yeast slant that you can put sterile wort into your slant tube, swirl it around and pour it into your starter. Does anybody here do that? If so will that slant regrow itself or is it spent after that? Thanks for the advice.

__________________
Life is like a plate of chitlins, everythings fine till you realize what your eating.
Atticmonkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-03-2010, 05:41 AM   #2
krops13
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 279
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

I don't do it this way, but IMO the nutrient in the agar is gone. The yeast use it all up. I'm sure you could reinoculate a new slant from an old slant that was swirled. But I think contamination is a risk this way.

FWIW yeast culturing owns!!!!!!!!!

__________________
krops13 is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-04-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
bja
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,852
Liked 114 Times on 88 Posts

Default

What I do is add a few ml of wort to the slant, scrape the yeast from the surface of the gel and let it sit for a day. Then dump that into about 50 ml of wort and step it up from there. The old slant will grow yeast again, but I've never used it for fear of contamination.

__________________
bja is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-11-2010, 10:30 PM   #4
ekjohns
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: IL
Posts: 1,387
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

do you guys autoclave the equipment used to transfer the beer into the vial? Could i just autoclave some extra vials with 10 ml of wort and pour close to a flame (flaming cap of course)

__________________
ekjohns is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-12-2010, 01:32 AM   #5
Atticmonkey
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: La Salle, IL
Posts: 114
Default

Yeah thats actually what I do. I will make up usally 120ml of starter wort. Divide it up into 12-10ml vials and autoclave like normal.

__________________
Life is like a plate of chitlins, everythings fine till you realize what your eating.
Atticmonkey is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2010, 05:18 PM   #6
Wolfy
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 96
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Atticmonkey View Post
I read in a few places about when it comes time to make a starter from a yeast slant that you can put sterile wort into your slant tube, swirl it around and pour it into your starter. Does anybody here do that? If so will that slant regrow itself or is it spent after that? Thanks for the advice.
That's the way I do it. I pour about 5ml of wort ontop of the slant and gently scrape off the yeast with an inoculation loop, if I do it well there is no yeast left on the slant so it's discarded.

However, some people use an inoculation loop to select only a small amount of yeast from the slant, and add that to a very small amount of wort. That way they don't 'use up' the slant and can continue to reuse the same slant for a long period of time (up to 4 years in some cases), however it does take an extra step when making the starter.
__________________
Wolfy is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-16-2010, 11:41 PM   #7
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolfy View Post
However, some people use an inoculation loop to select only a small amount of yeast from the slant, and add that to a very small amount of wort. That way they don't 'use up' the slant and can continue to reuse the same slant for a long period of time (up to 4 years in some cases), however it does take an extra step when making the starter.
I am in this crowd. I keep one slant and one water culture for each of my strains. The water doesn't get touched until I need to make a new slant (if its gone brown or 6 months).

You only need a tiny amount of yeast off the slant, and possibly an extra day to use this method. My first addition is to 10 ml in a vial sealed without oxygen, and I give it 24 hours before stepping up.
__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style
Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply



Quick Reply
Message:
Options
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yeast Slant Trade BayouBrew Fermentation & Yeast 6 03-28-2013 12:23 AM
For Sale - Wanted: slant of Denny's Favorite yeast Hugh_Jass For Sale 9 01-14-2010 03:15 PM
Putting in cold ale yeast asterix404 Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 4 03-31-2009 02:54 PM
Is is PC to ask around for a yeast slant? zymurgist626 Recipes/Ingredients 4 01-13-2009 04:01 PM
Yeast slant - tube stoppers? Funkenjaeger General Techniques 1 07-21-2007 08:51 PM



Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS